President Bola Ahmed Tinubu Set to Assume Chairmanship of ECOWAS, Strengthening Nigeria’s Regional Leadership

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu Set to Assume Chairmanship of ECOWAS, Strengthening Nigeria’s Regional Leadership

…By Jack Sylva for TDPel Media.

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu to Assume ECOWAS Chairmanship

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu is poised to become the next chairman of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).


He is expected to take over from President Umaro Sissoco Embaló of Guinea-Bissau during the 63rd ordinary session of the authority of heads of state and government, to be held in Bissau, the capital city of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau.

This information was revealed by diplomatic sources.

Tinubu’s departure from Abuja is scheduled for Saturday, ahead of the Sunday meeting of the heads of state of the regional political and economic bloc.


Significance of the Leadership Transition

Former President Muhammadu Buhari previously held the position in 2018, and now Tinubu, who succeeded Buhari as the Nigerian president in May 2023, will be making his first international appearance on the African continent at the ECOWAS meeting.

This marks an important step for Tinubu’s presidency and his engagement with regional leaders.

His participation in the summit for ‘A New Global Financing Pact’ in Paris, France, hosted by French president Emmanuel Macron, in June indicates his commitment to international cooperation and regional integration.

Agenda and Key Issues to be Addressed

The ECOWAS heads of state summit will focus on several crucial sub-regional matters.

These include addressing security challenges faced by member countries, as outlined in the report of the 50th ordinary session of the mediation and security council.


Additionally, the 90th ordinary session of the ECOWAS council of ministers will present a report on the financial situation of the body.

Furthermore, discussions will revolve around the progress of the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) implementation, and a report on the status of transition in Mali, Burkina Faso, and Guinea will also be presented.

Overview of ECOWAS and its Member States

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) was established in 1975 and currently comprises 15 member states.

These states are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

With a combined population of 387 million and a nominal GDP of $816 billion, ECOWAS plays a significant role in promoting economic cooperation, regional stability, and integration among its member states.


Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Read Related News On TDPel Media

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)

Leave a Reply