Over 100 Senior Military Officers Set to Retire as New Service Chiefs Assume Roles

…By Dorcas Funmi for TDPel Media. Following President Bola Tinubu’s appointment of new service chiefs on Monday, it is anticipated that a significant number of senior military officers, approximately 100, will be compelled to retire.


This retirement is expected to affect high-ranking personnel across the Nigerian Army, Air Force, and Nigerian Navy, including Generals, Brigadiers-General, Air Vice Marshals, Rear Admirals, and Admirals.

The decision to retire these senior officers aligns with a long-standing military tradition that mandates the retirement of officers who hold a higher rank than the newly appointed service chiefs.

As part of the services’ reorganization by the incoming chiefs, many officers will be promoted to fill the vacancies created by the retiring generals, in accordance with military tradition.


As per established precedence, the new Chief of Defence Staff, Maj Gen. Christopher Musa, will assume the rank of a full four-star General.

Similarly, the new Chief of Army Staff, Maj Gen. Taoreed Lagbaja, will be decorated with the three-star rank of Lieutenant General, and Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ogalla will assume the rank of Air Marshal.

Considering the military’s traditional practices, it is expected that senior officers, particularly those belonging to Course 37, Course 38, and Course 39, will likely retire.

This is because the new Chief of Defence Staff is a member of the 38 Regular Course, while the Chief of Army Staff, the Chief of Naval Staff, and the Chief of Air Staff are members of the 39 Regular Course.

This retirement announcement comes six months after the retirement of 24 Major Generals and 38 Brigadier Generals in December 2022.


These officers had dedicated 35 years of service to the nation.

According to the Punch, the following senior military officers are among those anticipated to retire alongside the former service chiefs:

1. Maj Gen. Ibrahim Yusuf – Commandant of the Nigerian Defence Academy

2. Rear Admiral Murtala Bashir – Commandant of the National Defence College

3. AVM IG Lubo – Chief of Policy and Plans, HQ NAF


4. Air Vice Marshal Oluwarotimi Tuwase – Commandant, Armed Forces Command and Staff College in Jaji

Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media