Comprehensive List of CBN Governors: A Historical Overview from 1958 to Present

Olayemi Cardoso Confirmed as CBN Governor: Leadership Transition at the Apex Bank

In a significant development, the 10th Senate, led by Godswill Akpabio, confirmed Olayemi Cardoso as the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) on Tuesday.

Presidential Nomination

Cardoso’s nomination for the role came from President Bola Tinubu on September 15, 2023. He is set to serve as the Governor of the apex bank for a term of five years.

Succession at the CBN

This appointment marks a transition in leadership at the CBN, with Cardoso stepping in to replace Godwin Emefiele, who reportedly resigned from his position in August.

Emefiele’s suspension by the President preceded his resignation.

A Distinguished Career

Olayemi Cardoso boasts a career spanning over four decades, encompassing roles in the public, private, and development sectors.

His experience as a leader and innovator has left a significant mark in various capacities.

Notable Positions Held

Among his notable roles, Cardoso has served as a Commissioner in the Lagos State Ministry of Economic Planning and Budget.

He has also held the position of Chairman of the board of the African Venture Philanthropy Alliance.

Most recently, he served as Chairman of Citibank Nigeria Ltd for a remarkable 12-year tenure until his resignation in 2022.

A Look Back: CBN Governors in Nigeria

As the Central Bank of Nigeria welcomes Olayemi Cardoso, it’s worth reflecting on the individuals who have held this prestigious position in the past.

Here is a list of CBN Governors in Nigeria from 1958 to the present day:

  1. Roy Pentelow Fenton (July 24, 1958 – July 24, 1963)
  2. Aliyu Mai-Bornu (July 25, 1963 – June 22, 1967)
  3. Clement Nyong Isong (August 15, 1967 – September 22, 1975)
  4. Adamu Ciroma (September 24, 1975 – June 28, 1977)
  5. Ola Vincent (June 28, 1977 – June 28, 1982)
  6. Abdulkadir Ahmed (June 28, 1982 – September 30, 1993)
  7. Paul Agbai Ogwuma (October 1, 1993 – May 29, 1999)
  8. Joseph Oladele Sanusi (May 29, 1999 – May 29, 2004)
  9. Charles Chukwuma Soludo (May 29, 2004 – May 29, 2009)
  10. Sanusi Lamido Aminu Sanusi (June 3, 2009 – February 20, 2014)
  11. Sarah Alade (Acting) (February 20, 2014 – June 3, 2014)
  12. Godwin Emefiele (June 3, 2014 – June 9, 2023)
  13. Folashodun Adebisi Shonubi (Acting) (June 9, 2023 – September 26)
  14. Olayemi Cardoso (September 26 – Present)

The appointment of Olayemi Cardoso as the 14th Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria signifies a new chapter in the bank’s leadership history.

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)