Proteas in hot water over ‘deplorable’ sledging, Bangladesh lay complaint

Bangladesh had displayed an immense fighting spirit throughout the first four days against the Proteas, but their batsmen were no match for the twin spin threat posed by Keshav Maharaj and Simon Harmer in their second innings.

Day five on Monday got off to an almost unbelievable start as Maharaj (7/23) claimed his five-for within the first 11 overs, while Harmer (3/21) continued his wicket-taking heroics after claiming four quick sticks in the first innings.

Only Najmul Hossain Shanto put up some resistance as he scored 26, but only one other batsman reached double figures as the Proteas bundled Bangladesh out for just 53 runs to claim a 220-run victory in the first Test

However, there have now been sensational claims from Bangladesh that the Proteas crossed the line when it came to sledging, while the visitors have also complained about the standard of officiating.

BCB cricket operations chief Jalal Yunus told ESPNcricinfo that Bangladesh were concerned about how the umpires treated their players when they complained about the Proteas’ sledging.

“They surrounded [Mahmudul Hasan] Joy when he went out to bat,” he said. “They were saying something. He couldn’t say anything back since he is a junior player. It was deplorable. Instead of controlling the situation, the umpires warned our players whenever we made complaints against the sledging.

“Sledging definitely took place from both sides, but when they started it and took it overboard, we complained to the umpires. It wasn’t acceptable. We properly condemn it. We have to accept the umpires’ decisions, but the ICC must reinstate neutral umpires.”


South Africa

Dean Elgar (captain), Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Temba Bavuma, Ryan Rickelton, Kyle Verreynne (wkt), Wiaan Mulder, Keshav Maharaj, Simon Harmer, Lizaad Williams, Duanne Olivier


Mominul Haque (captain), Shadman Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Yasir Ali, Litton Das (wkt), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain

Umpires: Marais Erasmus, Adrian Holdstock (both RSA)

TV umpire: Allahudien Paleker (RSA)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media ↯↯↯