Formula 1 Sprint Race Highlights: United States Grand Prix

Formula 1 Sprint Race Updates

Follow live for all the latest news and updates from the Circuit of the Americas during the Sprint Race of the United States Grand Prix.

Key Moments and Commentary

LAP 8: Russell’s Penalty

George Russell receives a five-second time penalty for passing Oscar Piastri off-track, making it a challenging day for Russell.

LAP 7: Stewards Investigating Off-Track Overtake

Stewards are investigating an off-track overtake while Lewis Hamilton reports that Max Verstappen has gone off the track multiple times.

LAP 6: Struggle for Grip

Pierre Gasly and Oscar Piastri are struggling for grip on the track, with wind complaints coming in. Carlos Sainz is the only one opting for soft compound tires.

LAP 5: Current Top Five

As things stand, the top five are Max Verstappen in the lead, followed by Lewis Hamilton, and Charles Leclerc.

LAP 3: Hamilton Moves Up

Lewis Hamilton advances to P2 as Sergio Perez and Oscar Piastri continue their fight on the track.

LAP 2: Piastri Holds His Position

Oscar Piastri defends his position against Perez, utilizing his teammate Lando Norris as a buffer.

George Russell recovers his lost places.

LAP 1: The Race Begins

Max Verstappen makes a forceful move against Charles Leclerc.

Contact between Piastri and Sainz is noted.

The race begins.

Formation Laps

The cars have left the grid for their formation laps, preparing for the sprint.

Race Overview

The Sprint Race at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas, will not determine the starting position for the main race, which was already set during Friday’s qualifying.

The qualifying results placed Max Verstappen in the lead, with Charles Leclerc on pole and Lando Norris in the front row.

George Russell’s Penalty

George Russell receives a three-place grid penalty for impeding Charles Leclerc’s flying lap during qualifying.

As a result, he drops from P8 to P11, allowing Alex Albon, Pierre Gasly, and Daniel Ricciardo to move up.

Grid Lineup

The grid for the Sprint Race is as follows:

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  2. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  3. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  4. Lando Norris (McLaren)
  5. Oscar Piastri (McLaren)
  6. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  7. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
  8. Alex Albon (Williams)
  9. Pierre Gasly (Alpine)
  10. Daniel Ricciardo (AlphaTauri)
  11. George Russell (Mercedes)
  12. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin)
  13. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
  14. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
  15. Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo)
  16. Nico Hulkenberg (Haas)
  17. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
  18. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)
  19. Yuki Tsunoda (Alpha Tauri)
  20. Logan Sargeant (Williams)

Conclusion and Anticipation

The Sprint Race offers the winner eight points, although Max Verstappen has already secured the driver’s title.

Despite this, racers have motivation to make the most of the race.

The event promises excitement and anticipation for the main race.

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)