Speaker of the House of Representatives Approves Establishment of 130 Standing Committees

Speaker of the House of Representatives Approves Establishment of 130 Standing Committees

…By for TDPel Media. The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Tajudeen Abbas, has given his approval for the establishment of 130 Standing Committees.


These committees will be announced on Thursday, along with an additional 24 new Standing Committees.

This decision comes as a significant development in Nigeria’s legislative process, as it seeks to address various sectors and areas of national importance.

Newly Created Standing Committees:

Among the 24 newly established Standing Committees are some crucial ones that cover a wide range of sectors.


These include committees such as Aviation Technology, Banking & Other Ancillary Institutions, Digital & Electronic Banking, Examination Bodies, Health Specialty Care Services, and the National Agency for Food and Drugs Administration and Control (NAFDAC).

Additionally, the list comprises committees on Small and Medium Enterprises, Petroleum (Midstream), Muslim Pilgrimage, Christian Pilgrimage, Police Institutions, Shipping Services, Renewable Energy, National Rural Electrification Agency, Science Research Institutions, Science Engineering, University Education, Federal Polytechnics, and Higher Technical Education.

Announcement of Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen:

The Speaker disclosed that the Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen for the 130 Standing Committees will be announced on Thursday before the House proceeds on a two-month recess.

This step is essential to ensure the committees can begin their work promptly and effectively.

Split and Changes in Standing Committees:

Several existing Standing Committees underwent changes and splits.


Notably, the Standing Committee on Aviation was divided into two separate committees – Aviation and Aviation Technology.

Similarly, the Committee on Banking and Currency was split into three distinct committees – Banking & Currency, Banking Regulations, and Digital Electronic Banking. Moreover, the Standing Committee on Basic Education and Services was divided into two new committees.

Retained Standing Committees:

Alongside the new committees, the Speaker retained a significant number of Standing Committees, covering diverse areas of governance and policymaking.

Some of these retained committees include Appropriations, Finance, Power, Water Resources, Public Accounts, Works, Interior, Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), Petroleum (Upstream), Petroleum (Downstream), Ecological Fund, Rules & Business, Public Petitions, Ethics & Privileges, Agricultural Colleges & Institutions, Aids, Loans and Debt Management, Gas Resources, Navy, Foreign Affairs, Governmental Affairs, Health Institutions, Industry, Inland Waterways, Host Communities, Niger Delta Ministry, National Security & Intelligence, and Human Rights.


The approval of 130 Standing Committees by the Speaker of the House of Representatives marks a significant step towards ensuring comprehensive governance and effective policymaking in Nigeria.


The establishment of these committees, along with the addition of 24 new ones, reflects a commitment to addressing various sectors and issues that are vital to the nation’s growth and development.

With the announcement of the committee Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen, the House is poised to engage in rigorous legislative work during the upcoming period.

Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media

Breaking News

Download the Enthusiasts App

TDPel Media

This article was published on TDPel Media. Thanks for reading!

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)

Advertisement: App Distribution)