President Tinubu Inaugurates Vice President Shettima-led National Economic Council to Revive Nigerian Economy

President Tinubu Inaugurates Vice President Shettima-led National Economic Council to Revive Nigerian Economy

…By Larry John for TDPel Media. President Bola Ahmed Tinubu officially inaugurated the National Economic Council (NEC) on Thursday, with Vice President Kashim Shettima at the helm.


The inauguration took place at the Council Chambers of the State House in Abuja.

During the event, President Tinubu emphasized the importance of collaboration between the Council and his administration in revitalizing the economic well-being of Nigerians.

The Role and Composition of the NEC

The NEC is a monthly meeting that holds the responsibility of advising the President on economic matters concerning the Federation.

This includes providing guidance on the coordination of economic planning efforts and programs implemented by various levels of government within the Federation.

The Council consists of the 36 State Governors, the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, and other relevant government officials who are co-opted to participate.

Key Attendees at the Inaugural Meeting

Several notable individuals were present at the commencement of the meeting.


Among the Governors in attendance were Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq of Kwara, Ademola Adeleke of Osun, Yahaya Bello of Kogi, Biodun Oyebanji of Ekiti, Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa, Umo Eno of Akwa Ibom, Peter Mbah of Enugu, Bassey Otu of Cross River, Caleb Muftwang of Plateau, Nasir Idris of Kebbi, Aliyu Radda of Katsina, and Hycinth Alia of Benue.

Also present were Dauda Lawal of Zamfara, Dapo Abiodun of Ogun, Charles Soludo of Anambra, Mai Mala Buni of Yobe, Agbu Kefas of Taraba, Sheriff Oborevwori of Delta, Siminalayi Fubara of Rivers, Mohammed Bago of Niger, and Ahmad Aliyu of Sokoto.

The gathering included Francis Nwifuru of Ebonyi, Uba Sani of Kaduna, Godwin Obaseki of Edo, Alex Otti of Abia, Douye Diri of Bayelsa, Abba Yusuf of Kano, Bala Mohammed of Bauchi, Seyi Makinde of Oyo, as well as Borno Deputy Governor Umar Kadafur and Ondo Acting Governor Lucky Ayedatiwa.

Presence of Key Government Officials

In addition to the governors, several high-ranking government officials were also in attendance.

These included George Akume, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Femi Gbajabiamila, the Chief of Staff, Mele Kyari, the Group Chief Executive Officer (GCEO) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPCL), Oluwatoyin Madein, the Acting Accountant General of the Federation, Folashodun Shonubi, the Acting Governor of the Central Bank, as well as the Permanent Secretaries of Budget and National Planning, Federal Capital Territory Administration, and State House.


Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media