Police Service Commission Approves Promotions and Appointments, Enhancing Leadership Structure

Police Service Commission Approves Promotions and Appointments, Enhancing Leadership Structure

…By Dorcas Funmi for TDPel Media. The Police Service Commission (PSC) has announced the approval of the appointment of Assistant Inspectors General of Police (AIGs) Frank Mba and Bala Ciroma as Deputy Inspectors General of Police.


This decision was made known through a statement issued by the Head of Press and Public Relations of the PSC, Ikechukwu Ani.

DIG Ciroma Replaces DIG Janga

Deputy Inspector General (DIG) Bala Ciroma will take over from DIG Ali Janga, who has retired from service and had previously represented the North East geo-political zone in the Police Management team.

As the most senior officer from the zone, DIG Ciroma will now be the representative of the North East zone.

DIG Mba Appointed to Represent South East Zone

DIG Frank Mba has been appointed to represent the South East zone, replacing retired DIG John Amadi who previously held the position.

This appointment ensures the representation of the South East zone in the Police Management team.

Promotions of Commissioners of Police and Deputy Commissioners of Police

The Police Service Commission also approved the promotion of 14 Commissioners of Police to the rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police and 22 Deputy Commissioners of Police to the substantive rank of Commissioners.


Decisions Made at the 21st Plenary Meeting

These decisions were the highlights of the 21st Plenary Meeting of the Commission, presided over by its Chairman, Dr. Solomon Arase.

The meeting was attended by all members of the Commission, including the Permanent Secretary/Secretary to the Commission, Ifeoma Adaora Anyanwutaku.

New Appointments and Promotions

Among the newly appointed AIGs are Abubakar Lawal, Alhassan Aminu, Abdul Umar, Shettima Zannah, Ebong Eyibio Ebong, Adepoju Ayiinde Ilori, Okon Okon Effiong, Echeng Eworo Echeng, Susan Ukpanukiema Horsfall, Bankole Lanre Sikiru, Oladimeji Yomi Olarewaju, Sani Gwarzo, and Odama Paul Ojeka.

Additionally, 22 Deputy Commissioners of Police have been promoted to the rank of Commissioners.

These include Abibo Deinma Reuben, Thomas Abraham Nabhoni, Wakil Abdul Salamai, Enyinnaya Inonachi, Ronke Nurat Okunade, Adekunle Ismail Olusokan, Hassan Abdu Yabnet, Festus Chinedu Oko, Aminu Baba Raji, Omolara Ibidun Oluntola, Akoh Benedict Gabriel, Alamutu Abiodun Mustapha, Bafda Magaji Jahun, Ahmadu Tijani Abdullahi, Mohamned Mu’azu, Bretet Emmanuel Simon, Ihebom M Chukuma, Shettima Mohammed Qurtu, Olatokunbo Maxwell Olabisi, Yusuf Mohammed Lawal, Monica Leo, and Abaniwonda Surajudeen Olufemi.

Further Promotions and Appointments

The Commission also approved the promotion of 24 Assistant Commissioners of Police to the rank of Deputy Commissioners.

Notable individuals among them include Ezekiel Ibrahim, Mohammed Shamsudeen, Khan Salihu Usman, Wan Mantu Chongs, Baba Lawan Audu, Okon Etim Asuquo, Louis Chike Nwabuwa, Samuel Osman Onoja,

Sa’ad Yahaya, and Ibrahim Jibrin.

Moreover, 39 Chief Superintendents of Police were promoted to Assistant Commissioners of Police.


Some of those promoted include Joseph Udoh, Nze Helen Omeba, Uduaku Isaac Udom, Anthony Francis Etim, Benjamin Kelembus Bello, Abdullahi Idris Abubakar, Ogbonnaya Nwota, Daiyabu Mohammed Ahmed, among others.

Additionally, CSP Akande Bamidele was appointed as an acting Assistant Commissioner of Police.

Interactive Session and Delegation of Powers

The newly appointed AIGs, Commissioners of Police, and Deputy Commissioners of Police participated in an interactive session with the Commission as part of the requirements for their new ranks.

The Plenary Meeting also approved a new Instrument of Delegation, delegating powers to the Inspector General of Police.

Congratulatory Remarks and Commitment to Future Promotions

Dr. Solomon Arase, Chairman of the Commission, congratulated the newly promoted officers and urged them to rededicate themselves to the service of their country.

He assured that Police Promotions will be regular to prevent officers from stagnating in any rank.

Dr. Arase also expressed his appreciation for the dedication and sacrifice of the other members of the Commission, emphasizing a brighter future for the Nigeria Police Force.

Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media


TDPel Media

This article was published on TDPel Media. Thanks for reading!

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)