National Minimum Wage Committee Holds First Meeting in Abuja

National Minimum Wage Committee Holds First Meeting in Abuja

Inauguration of the National Minimum Wage Committee

The National Minimum Wage Committee, consisting of 37 members, convened its inaugural meeting in Abuja following its inauguration on January 30th.

Vice President Kashim Shettima officiated the committee’s inauguration at the Aso Rock Villa’s council chamber.

Confirmation of the Committee’s First Meeting

Bayo Onanuga, the Special Adviser to President Bola Tinubu on Information and Strategy, confirmed the committee’s inaugural meeting through a statement shared via his X account.

He highlighted that the meeting took place shortly after the committee’s inauguration, specifically at the State House Banquet Hall.

Acknowledgment of Promise Fulfillment

Onanuga also expressed commendation for Vice President Kashim Shettima and President Bola Tinubu, noting that they fulfilled their promise of establishing the new minimum wage committee.

In his statement, he wrote, “Promise kept: Vice President Kashim Shettima inaugurates the 37-man National Minimum Wage Committee in Abuja.

The committee members, among whom are six governors, held their first meeting at the State House Banquet Hall.”

Committee Membership and Representation

As previously reported, the committee’s composition is diverse, encompassing representatives from the Federal Government, State Government, Private Sector, and Organized Labour.

The Federal Government’s representation includes notable figures such as Hon. Nkeiruka Onyejeocha, Dr. (Mrs) Yemi Esan, and Ekpo Nta, Esq.

From the State Government, governors like Alh. Mohammed Umar Bago and Sen. Bala Mohammed are representing various regions.

Representatives from business associations include Adewale-Smatt Oyerinde from NECA and Asiwaju (Dr) Michael Olawale-Cole from NACCIMA.

Representation from Employers’ and Business Associations

Representatives from the Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA), the Nigeria Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA), the National Association of Small and Medium Enterprise (NASME), and the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN) also form part of the committee.

Their inclusion ensures a comprehensive representation of employer perspectives.

Organized Labour Representation

The committee is further enriched by the inclusion of representatives from organized labour, including the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and the Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC).

Key figures such as Comrade Joe Ajaero, Comrade Emmanuel Ugboaja, and Comrade (Engr) Festus Osifo bring the perspective of the workforce to the committee.

This diverse and inclusive composition signifies a concerted effort to consider a wide range of perspectives in the deliberations on the national minimum wage.

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Read Related News On TDPel Media

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)