Governor Ron DeSantis attends Florida’s annual Teacher of the Year Conference in Orlando

Governor Ron DeSantis attends Florida’s annual Teacher of the Year Conference in Orlando

Governor Ron DeSantis was in Orlando today for Florida’s annual Teacher of the Year Conference, which honours the greatest educators in the state. Governor DeSantis honoured five contenders for Teacher of the Year at the ceremony, awarding each with a $15,000 bonus.

Governor DeSantis also emphasised Florida’s continuous education accomplishments over the last year, including the state’s placing third in the country for K-12 success in the most recent Quality Counts report.

“Florida is the education state not just because we have good policies, but because we have great teachers who go above and beyond for their students,” said Governor Ron DeSantis. “It was great to join some amazing teachers today and to show our appreciation for their hard work and sacrifice. We will continue to invest in our schools and educators, while putting policies in place that improve outcomes for students.”

“It was great to honor our 74 teachers of the year who dedicate their lives to student achievement,” said Education Commissioner Manny Diaz Jr. “Thank you to Governor DeSantis for recognizing their success and for his leadership to make Florida the Education State.”

The five teachers who are finalists for Teacher of the Year and were awarded $15,000 bonuses by Governor DeSantis are:

  • Melissa Matz, a seventh-grade math teacher at Lakeside Junior High School in Clay County.
  • Trinity Whittington, a fourth-grade English language arts and social studies teacher at Bell Elementary School in Gilchrist County.
  • Jennifer Jaso, a social studies teacher at Sarasota Middle School who is highly regarded by her students.
  • Deelah Jackson, a fourth-grade teacher at Samoset Elementary School in Manatee County.
  • Seema Naik, a fourth-grade teacher at Eagle Ridge Elementary School in Broward County.

The five contenders for 2023 Teacher of the Year were chosen from roughly 185,000 public school teachers across the state. Following the selection of the teacher of the year by each school district, a selection committee comprised of teachers, principals, parents, and members of the business community reviews each district application on the basis of outstanding ability to teach and communicate knowledge of the subject taught, professional development, teaching philosophy, and outstanding school and community service. The winner will serve as the Christa McAuliffe Ambassador for Education for one year.

The Florida Teacher of the Year programme is made possible in collaboration with the Florida Education Foundation by the following generous sponsors: Florida Prepaid College Savings Plans, State Farm Insurance, Florida State University College of Education, Helios Education Foundation, Florida Blue Foundation, Florida Education Association, Herff Jones, Publix Super Market Charities, PNC Bank, and Florida Power & Light Company.

»Governor Ron DeSantis attends Florida’s annual Teacher of the Year Conference in Orlando«

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media ↯↯↯