Chiefs players secure historic Carling Cup win for All-Stars

Chiefs players secure historic Carling Cup win for All-Stars

Carling All-Stars Make History with 2-1 Victory Over Stellenbosch FC

Kaizer Chiefs Players Shine Bright

In a historic Carling Cup clash at the New Peter Mokaba Stadium, the Carling All-Stars, featuring key players from Kaizer Chiefs, secured a memorable 2-1 victory over Stellenbosch FC.

The triumph marked the first time an All-Stars team had their name engraved on the prestigious Carling Cup trophy.

Mfundo Vilakazi, representing Kaizer Chiefs, showcased his capabilities by breaking the deadlock just four minutes into the match.

As a player in the DStv Diski Challenge, this moment became a memorable highlight for him.

Ashley Du Preez further extended the lead for the All-Stars with a second goal from a spot kick in the 12th minute.

Stellenbosch’s Mervin Boji managed to score the only goal for his team in the final minutes of the game.

Itumeleng Khune’s Remarkable Carling Cup Journey

Itumeleng Khune, the veteran goalkeeper, played a crucial role in the match and demonstrated his consistency in the Carling Cup.

He holds the distinction of being the only player to have featured in all 11 competitions of the Carling Cup.

Khune’s extensive experience in the beautiful game was evident as he delivered a performance that met the expectations placed upon him.

Additionally, he shares the record for the most starts in the tournament, equaling former Orlando Pirates skipper Happy Jele with eight appearances.

Athenkosi Mcaba’s Early Exit

Athenkosi Mcaba faced an unfortunate exit from the game in the 64th minute, receiving a red card for a dangerous tackle on Jabulani Mokone.

This incident added a dramatic twist to an already intense match.

The Legacy of Past Winning Coaches

Since its inception in 2011, the Carling Cup has seen various coaches claim victory.

The list includes esteemed names such as Julio Leal, Augusto Palacios, Stuart Baxter, Eric Tinkler, Steve Komphela, Milutin Sredojevic, Rulani Mokwena, and Jose Riveiro, who led the Carling All-Stars to success in 2023.

Prize Money and Incentives

The Carling Cup champions will be rewarded with a significant prize of R2 million, while the runners-up will receive R1 million.

The enticing prize money adds an extra layer of competition and motivation for the teams participating in this prestigious tournament.

Sports News

TDPel Media

This article was published on TDPel Media. Thanks for reading!

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)