Battle for Principal Positions Begins as Minority Parties Vie for Power in Nigerian Senate and House of Representatives

Battle for Principal Positions Begins as Minority Parties Vie for Power in Nigerian Senate and House of Representatives

…By Jack Sylva for TDPel Media. Following the recent elections for key leadership positions in the Nigerian Senate and House of Representatives, members of minority parties have commenced their struggle for the remaining principal positions.


The minority caucus consists of representatives from seven opposition parties, which collectively hold more seats than the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Composition of the Minority Caucus and Party Strength

The minority caucus encompasses parties such as the ADC, Labour Party, New Nigerian People’s Party, All Progressives Grand Alliance, Social Democratic Party, and Youth Progressive Party.

In the Senate, the APC holds the majority with 59 senators, followed by the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) with 36 senators, while other minority parties contribute varying numbers of representatives.

House of Representatives Makeup and Majority Caucus Positions

In the House of Representatives, the opposition parties hold a combined total of 181 seats, including 117 PDP members, 35 Labour Party members, 19 NNPP members, five APGA members, two SDP members, two ADC members, and one YPP member.

On the other hand, the APC possesses 178 elected members.

The ruling party, APC, will determine the positions of the majority caucus, including Senate Leader, Deputy Leader, Whip, and Deputy Whip.


Leadership Factions and Potential Candidates

During the ongoing leadership tussle, two main factions have emerged among senators.

The Stability Group supports Godswill Akpabio as Senate President and Jibrin Barau as Deputy Senate President, while the Democrats Group backs Abdulaziz Yari and Orji Kalu for the respective positions.

Sources suggest that Senator Opeyemi Bamidele from APC Ekiti Central aims to contend for the Senate Leader role, which is likely to be zoned to the southwest.

Potential Candidates for Senate Minority Leader

Senator Francis Fadahunsi from PDP, Osun East, is currently considered the frontrunner for the position of Senate Minority Leader.

Senators Adamu Aliero and Abdul Ningi are also reported to be leading candidates.

Fadahunsi argues that he is highly qualified for the role, especially if it is zoned to the South-West, citing his experience and the PDP’s performance in Osun State.


Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media