Nigerian Administration Faces Delay in Swearing-In Ministers and Commissioners

Nigerian Administration Faces Delay in Swearing-In Ministers and Commissioners

…By Joseph Benjamin for TDPel Media. With just six days remaining before the deadline set by the Nigerian constitution, the Bola Ahmed Tinubu-led administration, and 21 states out of 28 nationwide are yet to swear in their ministers and commissioners, respectively.


According to the constitution, the President and state governors have until July 27 to submit the list of nominees to the Senate and various Houses of Assembly for confirmation before they can be sworn in.

Delay in Constituting the Cabinet

The 1999 Constitution, as amended, grants the President a minimum of 60 days to form his cabinet.

Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the President in this context, has about eight days left to unveil his ministers.


So far, only seven states have managed to swear in their commissioners since the inauguration of the governors in 2023.

States that Sworn in Commissioners

Out of the 36 states, 28 inaugurated their governors on May 29, 2023, including 18 new governors and ten returning governors.

Among these, Abia, Delta, Ebonyi, Jigawa, Kano, Rivers, and Taraba states have successfully sworn in their commissioners after their lists were sent to and confirmed by the state Houses of Assembly.

States Yet to Swear in Commissioners

On the other hand, 21 states are yet to swear in their commissioners.

These states include Benue, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Plateau, Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, and Yobe.


The remaining states are Kaduna, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara, Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Enugu, Akwa Ibom, and Cross River.

Uncertainty Surrounding the Ministerial Nominees

Lawmakers from different political parties claim they are unaware of the whereabouts of the list of ministerial nominees submitted by President Bola Tinubu.

They have no information on the names of the nominees and are uncertain about the stage at which the list currently stands.

President Tinubu had sent some names to security agencies for clearance, but this clearance may not guarantee inclusion in the final list when presented to the Senate for screening.

Reasons for the Delay

Sources indicate that the delay in releasing the list of ministerial nominees is due to security checks conducted by the Department of State Services.


The list has not been made public yet, but there are rumors suggesting the inclusion of notable former governors like Nyesom Wike, Atiku Bagudu, and Aminu Masari among the nominees.

Awaiting Senate Confirmation

An anonymous APC lawmaker from the South-West expressed uncertainty about the stage of the ministerial list but remained confident that the Senate would accommodate it whenever it is delivered.

He expressed that since he has no personal interest in the matter, there is no need to be anxious, as the Senate would consider and screen the nominees once the list is received.


The delay in swearing in ministers and commissioners has drawn attention to the administration’s adherence to constitutional timelines.

As the deadline approaches, Nigerians await the official announcement of the ministerial nominees and the subsequent confirmation process by the Senate and various Houses of Assembly.



Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media

TDPel Media

This article was published on TDPel Media. Thanks for reading!

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)