New Zealand captain Kane Williamson to miss Test series against the Proteas

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson to miss Test series against the Proteas

After failing to recuperate from an elbow injury, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson will miss the forthcoming Test series against the Proteas, Black Caps coach Gary Stead confirmed on Tuesday.
In a 15-man squad that included two debutants in wicketkeeper Cam Fletcher and paceman Blair Tickner, Stead picked Tom Latham as the stand-in skipper.
After a seven-year absence from Test cricket, batsman Hamish Rutherford has been returned, as has allrounder Colin de Grandhomme, who has recovered from a recent form dip.
Williamson was “desperate” to play in the two-Test series against the Proteas, according to Stead, but had not fully healed from an elbow injury that kept him out late last year.

“The priority has to be trying to get the injury right and having him available long term,” he said.

Seamer Trent Boult will also miss the first Test starting in Christchurch on February 17 as he awaits the birth of his third child.
New Zealand squad: Tom Latham (capt), Tom Blundell, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Cam Fletcher, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Will Young


Dean Elgar (captain, Momentum Multiply Titans), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain, Imperial Lions), Sarel Erwee (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Zubayr Hamza (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Simon Harmer (Momentum Multiply Titans), Marco Jansen (Gbets Warriors), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), Wiaan Mulder (Imperial Lions), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Duanne Olivier (Imperial Lions), Kagiso Rabada (Imperial Lions), Ryan Rickelton (Imperial Lions), Lutho Sipamla (Imperial Lions), Glenton Stuurman (Gbet Warriors), Rassie van der Dussen (Imperial Lions), Kyle Verreynne (wicket-keeper, Six Gun Grill Western Province).
Team management
Mark Boucher (Head Coach), Khomotso Volvo Masubelele (Manager), Charl Langeveldt (Bowling Coach), Justin Ontong (Fielding Coach), Justin Sammons (Batting Consultant), Malibongwe Maketa (Coach), Brent Martin (Physiotherapist), Tumi Masekela (Strength & Conditioning Coach), Dr Shuaib Manjra (Team Dr), Sipokazi Sokanyile (Media Manager), Kyle Botha (Masseur), Zunaid Wadee (Security).
South Africa Test Tour to New Zealand Itinerary
Thursday, 17 to Monday, 21 February                   1st Test                    Hagley Oval, Christchurch
Friday, 25 February to Tuesday, 01 March            2nd Test                   Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Sports News

TDPel Media

This article was published on TDPel Media. Thanks for reading!

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)