List of hospitals now exempted from load shedding in South Africa

List of hospitals now exempted from load shedding in South Africa

The health department has outlined a range of steps to aid the health sector during the continuous rolling blackouts.

Exempting hospitals from load shedding is one of the most crucial measures.

According to BusinessTech, the South African Medical Association (SAMA) has cautioned that people needing emergency surgery, who are giving birth in a hospital, or who are in the intensive care unit (ICU) may have major issues due to load shedding.

In a press conference on Friday, 30 September, Minister of Health Joe Phaahla listed the exempted hospitals:


  • Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic Hospital
  • Helen Joseph Hospital
  • Steve Biko Academic Hospital
  • Pretoria West Hospital
  • Tshwane District Hospital
  • Mamelodi Regional Hospital
  • Bronkhorstspruit Hospital

Free State

  • Pelonomi Regional Hosiptal


  • Harry Gwala Regional Hospital
  • Greys Hospital
  • Ladysmith Hospital
  • Prince Mshiyeni
  • R. K Khan Hospital
  • Inkosi Albert Luthuli Central Hospital
  • King Dinuzulu Hospital Complex
  • KZN Children’s Hospital
  • Mahatma Gandhi Memorial Hospital
  • Osindisweni Hospital
  • St Aidan’s Hospital
  • Addington Hospital
  • Clairewood Hospital


  • Polokwane Mankweng Hospital Complex
  • Lebowakgomo Hospital
  • Dilokong Hospital
  • Mecklenburg Hospital

Eastern Cape

  • Frere Hospital
  • Elliot Hospital
  • Livingstone Port Elizabeth Hospital
  • Uitenhage Hospital

Western Cape

  • Tygerberg Hosiptal


  • Witbank Hospital

North West

  • Rob Ferreira Hospital

Northern Cape

  • No hospitals so far
»List of hospitals now exempted from load shedding in South Africa«

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media ↯↯↯