Applications are invited for the TWAS Awards 2026, offering grants of up to $10,000.

Applications are invited for the TWAS Awards 2026, offering grants of up to $10,000.

Overview of TWAS Awards

The TWAS Awards, previously known as the TWAS Prizes, honor individual scientists from developing nations for their exceptional contributions to scientific knowledge or the application of science and technology in sustainable development.

These awards cover nine scientific fields and signify recognition for noteworthy achievements.

Evolution of the Awards

In response to decisions made by the TWAS Council in 2018 and 2019, these awards now operate on a biennial cycle.

Additionally, a notable change was the transition from using the term ‘prize’ to ‘award’ for all TWAS distinctions except medals, a decision endorsed during the TWAS Council meeting in Hangzhou, China, in November 2019.

Award Categories and Conditions

TWAS offers nine awards, each valued at USD $10,000, across various scientific domains.

These awards come with accompanying plaques and are usually conferred during significant TWAS events, often coinciding with their General Meeting.

Eligibility Criteria

Candidates eligible for TWAS Awards must be scientists residing and working in a developing country for a minimum of ten years before their nomination.

They should demonstrate outstanding scientific research or contributions aligning with sustainable development goals.

Notably, TWAS members and self-nominations are ineligible for these awards.

Nomination Process and Requirements

To nominate a candidate, a comprehensive submission is essential, including nominator and nominee contact details, a detailed scientific field, a concise citation highlighting the nominee’s achievements, and a supporting statement elaborating on the significance of their work.

Nomination packets should also encompass the nominee’s bio-sketch, publications, referees’ contact details, and authorization for data processing.

Deadline and Application Process

The deadline for nominations is March 31, 2024.

For those interested in applying, the nomination platform can be accessed via the provided link.


Following the submission, it’s crucial that referees focus their evaluations on the impact of the nominee’s work.

It’s emphasized that a nomination may not proceed if fewer than three referees’ reports are received by the set deadline determined by the TWAS Executive Director.


The TWAS Awards stand as a prestigious recognition, celebrating exceptional scientific contributions from scholars in developing countries, aiming to foster advancements in global scientific knowledge and sustainable development.

TDPel Media

This article was published on TDPel Media. Thanks for reading!

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)