Trailblazers of African Football: Super Falcons’ Stellar Presence in CAF 2023 Award Nominations

Trailblazers of African Football: Super Falcons’ Stellar Presence in CAF 2023 Award Nominations

Super Falcons’ Nominees for CAF 2023 Awards

Super Falcons’ coach Randy Waldrum, along with star players Asisat Oshoala and goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, have made it to the final list of nominees for the CAF 2023 awards.

This recognition highlights their exceptional contributions to women’s football.

Player of the Year Award: Oshoala and Nnadozie’s Nominations

Asisat Oshoala, an iconic figure in women’s football, is nominated for the prestigious Player of the Year Award.

Her competition includes fellow teammate Chiamaka Nnadozie, Zambia’s Barbara Babanda, South Africa’s Andile Dlamini, Hilda Magaia, Thembi Kgatlana, as well as players from Cameroon and Morocco.

Chiamaka Nnadozie secures a dual nomination, finding her place in the Goalkeeper of the Year Award category.

Her fellow contenders include goalkeepers from Morocco and South Africa, making it a noteworthy acknowledgment of her skills between the posts.

Young Player of the Year: Rising Talents from Super Falcons

Esther Ajakaye and Deborah Abiodun represent the Super Falcons in the Young Player of the Year award category.

They face competition from talented players in Ghana, Morocco, and South Africa, showcasing the depth of young talent in African women’s football.

Coach of the Year: Waldrum’s Recognition

Coach Randy Waldrum, who guided the Super Falcons to the second round of the New Zealand/Australia 2023 Women’s World Cup, is nominated for the Coach of the Year award.

This recognition underlines his impactful leadership in shaping the team’s performance on the international stage.

National Team of the Year: Super Falcons’ Collective Recognition

The Super Falcons as a team have earned a nomination in the National Team of the Year Award.

Nigeria is listed alongside strong contenders like Morocco, Senegal, South Africa, and Zambia, showcasing the team’s consistent excellence in women’s football.

Anticipation for the Awards Ceremony

The winners of these prestigious awards will be determined through votes from a distinguished panel consisting of CAF’s technical commission, media professionals, coaches, and captains of member associations.

The awards ceremony, scheduled for December 11, 2023, at the Palais des Congres Movenpick in Morocco, promises to be a celebration of talent and achievement in African women’s football.

The nominations reflect the prowess of Super Falcons’ players and coaching staff, underscoring their impact on the continent’s football landscape.

As the anticipation builds for the awards ceremony, it is a moment of recognition for the hard work, skill, and dedication exhibited by these individuals and the team as a whole.

TDPel Media

This article was published on TDPel Media. Thanks for reading!

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)