Police Leadership Overhaul: IGP Egbetokun Approves Major Reshuffle of Senior Officers

Police Leadership Reshuffle: 40 Senior Officers Posted and Redeployed

Strategic Moves Unveiled:

The Inspector-General of Police, Kayode Egbetokun, has given his approval for the posting and redeployment of forty senior police officers.

This announcement, made by Force Spokesperson Muyiwa Adejobi on Wednesday, reveals a significant shake-up within the police hierarchy.

Composition of the Senior Officers:

The senior officers affected by this decision include 14 Assistant Inspectors General of Police and 26 Commissioners of Police.

They have been reassigned to various Commands and Formations across the country.

Immediate Changes in Effect:

Alignment with IGP’s Vision:

The statement emphasizes that the posting and redeployment take immediate effect and align with the Inspector-General’s mandate.

This mandate is centered on fostering a professionally competent, service-driven, rule-of-law compliant, and people-friendly Police Force.

Acknowledging Elevations:

The statement also notes that the redeployment of senior police officers reflects the new status of those recently elevated to their next ranks.

IGP’s Call for Collaboration and Professionalism:

Government Agenda Support:

In response to the changes, Egbetokun urges the newly posted and redeployed officers to work in harmony with the Force policy.

He also encourages them to support the government’s agenda for economic recovery and growth in the country’s socio-political development.

Emphasis on Professionalism:

The Inspector-General stresses the importance of entrenching professionalism and diligent policing services within their commands.

Additionally, he calls on these officers to collaborate with relevant stakeholders, emphasizing the need to bring policing closer to the people.

Highlighted Appointments:

Key AIG Postings:

Among the Assistant Inspectors General of Police posted to various zones are AIG Ogundele Joshua Ayodeji to Zone 7 Abuja, AIG Patrick Ogon Edung to Zone 11 Osogbo, and AIG Badru Banji Lawal to Border Patrol FHQ.

Command and Formation Assignments:

Several Commissioners of Police have been posted to commands and formations, including CP Disu Olatunji Rilwan to Rivers State, CP George Chijioke Chuku to Benue State, CP Ahmed Abdullahi Tijani to Jigawa State, CP Danjuma Aboki to Imo State, and CP Mohammed Barde to Safer Highways FHQ.


Adaptation for Efficient Policing:

This reshuffling of senior officers underscores the dynamic nature of law enforcement, adapting leadership positions to best serve the evolving needs of the police force.

While leadership changes are not uncommon, this move emphasizes the commitment to a strategic, service-oriented police force aligned with national development goals.

The impact of these changes on policing efficiency will be closely observed in the coming months.

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)