Paris-Nice result: Jumbo rampage delivers surprise Stage 1 win for rookie

Primoz Roglic and Wout van Aert stepped aside at Paris-Nice on Sunday and let new Jumbo team-mate Christophe Laporte win stage one and take the yellow jersey after dropping the peloton in a stunning attack.

The triumph gives triple Vuelta a Espana champion Roglic a massive boost in his bid to win an event that looked to be his before a last-day crash in 2021.

The flat opening stage of the eight-day race had been set up for a likely bunch sprint, but the Dutch team, packed with powerful riders, broke away 5km from home on a small incline and the trio eventually crossed the line 19 seconds ahead plus bonus seconds.

Senior riders Roglic and Van Aert had a brief chat and then told Laporte, on his first big race in his first season with Jumbo, to edge ahead and take the honours.

“It’s incredible,” Laporte said at the line.

“They told me first about 1km away from the line, it wasn’t planned and neither was the attack. Primoz and Wout were well placed and we just went for it.”

The result means two-time defending champion Maximilian Schachmann of Bora now trails chief rival Roglic by 42 seconds.

Runner-up last season Russian rider Aleksandr Vlasov, who spoke out against the war in Ukraine on Thursday, came in with the main pack 22 seconds off the pace.

Contenders for the title at Nice next Sunday, who came in at 22 seconds, are UAE’s Joao Almeida, Colombian climber Nairo Quintana, Britain’s Simon Yates of Bike Exchange, his twin Adam Yates of Ineos and team-mate Daniel Martinez, winner of the 2021 Criterium du Dauphine.

Monday’s second stage runs through the vast agricultural plains between Paris and Orleans, and may also be decided by a breakaway.

Results and overall standings after stage one of cycling’s Paris-Nice, a 159.8km run from Mantes-la-Ville and back on Sunday:

Stage 1

1. Christophe Laporte (FRA/Jumbo) 3hr 48min 38sec, 2. Primoz Roglic (SLO/JUM) same time, 3. Wout van Aert (BEL/JUM) s.t., 4. Pierre Latour (FRA/TEN) at 19,5. Mads Pedersen (DEN/TRE) 22, 6. Biniam Girmay (ERY/INT) 22, 7. Ivan Garcia Cortina (ESP/MOV) 22, 8. Fred Wright (GBR/BAH) 22, 9. Jasper Philipsen (BEL/ALP) 22, 10. Florian Sénéchal (FRA/QST) 22.


16. Aleksandr Vlasov (RUS/BOR) 22, 18. Bryan Coquard (FRA/BBH) same time, 26. Brandon McNulty (USA/UAE) s.t., 31. Ben O’Connor (AUS/AG2) s.t., 37. David Gaudu (FRA/GFJ) s.t., 40. Joao Almeida (POR/UAE) s.t., 41. Nairo Quintana (COL/ARK) s.t., 43. Adam Yates (GBR/INE) s.t., 47. Daniel Martinez (COL/INE) s.t., 51. Simon Yates (GBR/BIK) s.t., 55. Maximilian Schachmann (GER/BOR) 36.


1. Christophe Laporte (FRA/Jumbo) 3hrs 48min 28sec, 2. Primoz Roglic (SLO/JUM) at 04sec, 3. Wout van Aert (BEL/JUM) 06, 4. Pierre Latour (FRA/TEN) 29, 5. Mads Pedersen (DEN/TRE) 32, 6. Biniam Girmay (ERY/INT) 32, 7. Ivan Garcia Cortina (ESP/MOV) 32, 8. Fred Wright (GBR/BAH) 32, 9. Jasper Philipsen (BEL/ALP) 32, 10. Florian Sénéchal (FRA/QST) 32.


16. Aleksandr Vlasov (RUS/BOR) 32, 26. Brandon McNulty (USA/UAE) 32, 31. Ben O’Connor (AUS/AG2) 32, 37. David Gaudu (FRA/GFJ) 32, 40. Joao Almeida (POR/UAE) 32, 41. Nairo Quintana (COL/ARK) 32, 43. Adam Yates (GBR/INE) 32, 47. Daniel Martinez (COL/INE) 32, 51. Simon Yates (GBR/BIK) 32, 55. Maximilian Schachmann (GER/BOR) 46.

Note: Bonus seconds awarded to top three finishers of Stage 1 of 10 seconds, 6 seconds and 4 seconds.

By Garrin Lambley © Agence France-Presse