Oshimhen, Nwakali, Dennis, Sadiq headline Nigeria’s AFCON 28-Man team

Oshimhen, Nwakali, Dennis, Sadiq headline Nigeria’s AFCON 28-Man team

Nigeria has unveiled its 28-man AFCON 2022 team list, with Victor Oshimhen, Kelechi Nwakali and Umar Sadiq the star names.

Also included in the team were Watford striker Emmanuel Dennis, Union Berlin top-man Taiwo Awoniyi and veteran striker Odion Ighalo.

Captain and Nigeria’s most capped player of all time, Ahmed Musa led the usual regulars such as Kelechi Iheanacho, Wilfred Ndidi, Alex Iwobi and keeper Maduka Okoye.

There was no place however for Venezia star defender Tyrone Ebuehi nor Feyenoord striker Cyriel Dessers.

Injuries to strikers Paul Onuachu, Samuel Kalu and midfield dynamo Oghenekaro Etebo denied them a chance to make the list.

The three-time African champions are making their 19th AFCON appearance and will be gunning in for a fourth title in the competition.

They won bronze on their last attempt at the 2019 edition staged in Egypt.

The Super Eagles are scheduled to begin their camping build up with invited players on 29 December 2021 in Abuja, before they will be later joined by UK based stars in the nation’s federal capital on 3 January 2022.

The team will open their outing against seven-time champions Egypt on January 11 before the second group tie puts them against Sudan four days later.

They will round up the group phase against Guinea Bissau in Garoua.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, Netherlands).


Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Troost-Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa).


Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain).


Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England).

Mazino Dickson/CAF
Oshimhen, Nwakali, Dennis, Sadiq headline Nigeria’s AFCON 28-Man team

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media Below↯↯↯

»Share Your Opinion On TDPel Media«