Lagos Ministry Receives Winners of Y2021 President, Teachers, Schools Excellence Awards

Lagos Ministry Receives Winners of Y2021 President, Teachers, Schools Excellence Awards

The Lagos State Government has fulfilled its promise to an outstanding teacher and school administrator in Lagos State with the presentation of keys to a two-bedroom flat to the family of late Mr. Pius Bababo Ikuseyidunmi, former Principal of Government Junior College, Ketu, Epe, who emerged as best School Administrator in 2019, and a three-bedroom flat to Mrs. Agnes Elusakin, a former teacher at Oriwu Senior Model College, Ikorodu, now the Principal of Community Junior Secondary School. She was winner of the Best Teacher award in 2019.

Speaking at the official presentation of the keys to awardees on Tuesday at the State Ministry of Education, Alausa, Mrs. Folasade Adefisayo, Commissioner for Education, stated that the event was in fulfilment of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu’s promise to the 2019 recipients of the President’s, Teachers’ and Schools’ Excellence Awards for making the State proud.

While maintaining that the present administration has continued to provide continuous support for teachers, through significant investments in the sector, Mrs. Adefisayo condoled with the family of late Ikuseyindunmi for the loss, declaring that Lagos State will forever be proud of his immense contributions to the education system as a former teacher and administrator.

On his part, the Commissioner for Housing, Mr. Maruf Akinderu-Fatai, said that since Governor Sanwo-Olu made the promise, the Ministry of Housing has continued to follow up and constantly assured the recipients that a day like this will become a reality.

He applauded the recipients for their patience and Mr. Governor for keeping to his promise, informing that the State government has remained consistent in touching lives and extending dividends of democracy to every sector.

Similarly, the Commissioner for Education, Mrs. Folasade Adefisayo, also hosted the awardees of Lagos State Y2021 President, Teachers and Schools Excellence Awards, comprising representatives of Bolade Junior Grammar School, Oshodi, winner of the Best Public Secondary School Category in the Federation; Mrs. Temitope Salmot Obiwumi of Wahab Folawiyo Junior Secondary School, who emerged 2ndRunner Up in the Best Teacher, Junior Secondary School Category in Nigeria and Mr. Rasheed Abolanle Odenike of Lagos State Civil Service Senior Model College, Igbogbo, Ikorodu, who came 4th in the Best Teacher, Senior Secondary Schools Category in Nigeria.

She commended all recipients of the awards, affirming that the feat is a testament to the improved infrastructure and manpower of the education sector in Lagos State.

In her words: “You have transported Lagos State to National levels and beyond. I encourage all teachers to always stay focused determined and continue to learn new methods of cascading knowledge as the government will not reduce the standard of learning in schools”.

“We are doing everything possible to provide quality education in Lagos State and the narrative of education is changing as the government is touching every school regardless of location”, she added.

The event was attended by the Chairman, Teaching Service Commission (TESCOM), Mrs. Elizabeth Ariyo, Tutor Generals/Permanent Secretaries of Education Districts and Stakeholders in the Education Sector.

»Lagos Ministry Receives Winners of Y2021 President, Teachers, Schools Excellence Awards«

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media ↯↯↯

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *