From the Desk of the President: Ramaphosa explains SA’s decision to abstain from UN vote on Russia-Ukraine conflict

President Cyril Ramaphosa has given reasons why South Africa abstained from voting in last week’s United Nations (UN) resolution on the escalating conflict between Russia and Ukraine.

In his weekly letter, Ramaphosa says Pretoria did not vote for or against the resolution because it did not call for meaningful engagement that would end the conflict.

South Africa abstains from the UN vote against Russia:

The President said the country used dialogue to end apartheid and conflicts in many African countries insisting that continuing to support the call for negotiation and dialogue, does not render the country’s commitment to human rights any less.

South Africa was criticized for abstaining on the UN Resolution calling on its BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, South Africa) partner, Russia to withdraw its military forces from Ukraine.

It’s amongst the 17 African nations that abstained.

He has called on Russia and Ukraine to subject the conflict to mediation and work to reach an agreement that would help end the conflict.

At least 141 nations have voted in favour of the resolution while five including Russia voted against with 35 abstaining and only Eritrea as the only African nation to vote with Russia.

The video below looks at why 16 African countries abstained from UN vote against Russia invasion: Prof Iqbal Jhazbhay



↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media ↯↯↯

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.