UN FAO Invites Nominations for 2024 Innovation Award in Agricultural Practices

UN FAO Invites Nominations for 2024 Innovation Award in Agricultural Practices

The United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (UN FAO) has officially opened nominations for the 2024 FAO Innovation Award.

Established during the Forty-second session of the FAO Conference in June 2021, this prestigious award aims to honor extraordinary innovation within the realms of FAO’s mandate, extending to a diverse array of awardees, including member states, non-state partners, institutions, individuals, and various organizations.

Defining Agricultural Innovation

Agricultural innovation, as defined by the FAO, involves the introduction of new or existing products, processes, or organizational methods in a specific context.

The goal is to enhance effectiveness, competitiveness, resilience to shocks, environmental sustainability, and contribute to food security, nutrition, economic development, and sustainable natural resource management.

The Award Package

The successful applicant for the FAO Innovation Award will be bestowed with a scroll detailing their achievements and/or award, along with a cash prize of USD $10,000.

This recognition aims to celebrate and encourage groundbreaking innovations that positively impact the agricultural sector.

Eligibility Criteria and Innovation Areas

The FAO Award for Innovation is open to a broad spectrum of entities, including members, institutions, individuals, international/regional organizations, academic or research entities, civil society organizations, and private sector entities.

The scope of eligible innovations spans various categories such as agri-food systems, digital agriculture, agri-food innovation systems, biotechnology advancements, sustainable production practices, new business models, and more.

Criteria for Evaluation

The award-specific criteria emphasize innovations that have an impact on multiple levels of the supply chain, strengthening connections between agricultural producers and consumers through various mechanisms.

General criteria for evaluation include the quality and merit of the innovation, potential benefit, impact, sustainability, accessibility, affordability, scalability, value for money, and the role of youth, women, and marginalized groups.

Nominating for Recognition

Interested parties can submit detailed nominations electronically through the provided form or via email at [email protected] The nomination should be self-contained, providing concrete elements and information about the innovation.

The deadline for submissions is March 1, 2024.

Business News

Download the Enthusiasts App

TDPel Media

This article was published on TDPel Media. Thanks for reading!

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)

Advertisement: App Distribution)