AMAA calls for Entries for 18th Africa Movie Awards

AMAA calls for Entries for 18th Africa Movie Awards

Africa Film Academy, organisers of movie awards in Africa is now accepting submissions for the 18th Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAAs).

The Africa Film Academy invites filmmakers to submit their feature, short, animation and documentary work for consideration in nearly 30 film categories of the awards.

This submission is officially opened to only films produced and released between 1st of May 2021 and April 31st, 2022 (last day of submission).

The 17th edition of the AMAAs was held at the Lagos Marriot Hotels, Ikeja and was joined by filmmakers, executives and government officials from different parts of the world.

Current Winners

During the event, Nigeria’s “Eyimofe” which was directed by Chuko and Arie Esiriscooped five awards, winning NFVCB Award for Nigerian Best Film in the process.

Somalia’s “The Gravedigger’s wife” also scooped five awards and winning the best film.

Somalian Actor, Omar Abdi won the “Best Actor in a Leading Role” for the role he played in the multiple award-winning film, The Gravedigger’s wife.

Also, Ugandan Actress, Joan Agaba beat top Nollywood actresses like Funke Akindele and Rita Dominic to win the AMAA 2021 Awards for Best Actress in a Leading Role.

Kelechi Udegbe also won the award for best actor in a supporting role for his role in “Collision Course”, while Wilmah Munemera won the AMAA 2021 Award for Best Young/Promising Actor.

According to the AMAA Organisers, all entries for the 18th AMAAs will be made via Filmfreeway.

The Africa Film Academy will not accept any film that exceeds the 120-minute run as a feature or a short film that is longer than 40 minutes.

Proposed Dates

AMAA awards two major categories of short films and animation.

The proposed date of the nomination’s gala night for the 18th AMAAs is Friday, August 26, 2022 while the Award ceremony will run through Wednesday, October 26, 2022 to Sunday, October, 30, 2022.

The Academy also awards the category for Best Africa Film in the Diaspora and Best Diaspora Short Film Awards inclusive of Caribbean Shorts and Caribbean features.

The Africa Movie Academy Awards was founded in 2005.

Pulse/Hauwa Abu
AMAA calls for Entries for 18th Africa Movie Awards

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media Below↯↯↯

»Share Your Opinion On TDPel Media«