URC result: Sharks thrash utterly woeful Dragons in Durban

URC result: Sharks thrash utterly woeful Dragons in Durban

Moriarty got himself into an awkward position when trying to stop the rampaging Phepsi Buthelezi just short of the half-hour mark and came away from the collision clutching his left knee and writhing in agony.

The 27-year-old received treatment on the pitch before being carted off, bringing an end to his first match back in the side since Wales’ Six Nations campaign.

Ox Nche, Bongi Mbonambi and Werner Kok touched down for the Sharks before a pair of penalty tries – both for deliberate knock-ons – and an Anthony Volmink touchdown carried the hosts beyond the half-century with the help of 17 points kicked by Curwin Bosch.

Bosch booted the Sharks into a 6-0 lead with a pair of penalties as the hosts dominated the early stages before Josh Lewis halved the deficit in the 16th minute.

The margin was back to six by the end of the first quarter thanks to another three points from Bosch’s boot, but the visitors were dealt a blow when Moriarty departed.

The Dragons conceded the game’s first try soon after he was replaced by Taine Basham, with Nche driving over under the posts.

Bosch added the extras and was on target again after Mbonambi touched down from a driving maul in the 33rd minute.

Kok carved a route through the Dragons defence as he embarked on an unstoppable run to go over seven minutes into the second half, with Bosch taking the score to 30-3.

The bonus point was in the bag for the Sharks when a deliberate knock-on by Lewis was punished with a penalty try and 10 minutes in the sin bin.

Lewis Jones committed the same offence with the same outcome only five minutes later, temporarily reducing the Dragons to 13 men and extending the Sharks’ lead further.

Anthony Volmink scored the final try 13 minutes from time and Bosch moved the scoreboard beyond 50, while the Dragons were shown a third yellow card – this time for Ben Fry – before time was up.




Tries: Nche, Mbonambi, Kok, Penalty Try (2), Volmink
Conversions: Bosch (4)
Penalties: Bosch (3)


Penalty: Lewis



15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Werner Kok, 13 Ben Tapuai, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Jaden Hendrikse, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi, 7 Jeandré Labuschagne, 6 James Venter, 5 Gerbrandt Grobler, 4 Le Roux Roets, 3 Thomas du Toit (captain), 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Ox Nche

Substitutes: 16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Ntuthuko Mchunu, 18 Khutha Mchunu, 19 Reniel Hugo, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Siya Kolisi, 22 Grant Williams, 23 Boeta Chamberlain


15 Ioan Davies, 14 Jared Rosser, 13 Adam Warren, 12 Jack Dixon, 11 Jordan Olowofela, 10 Josh Lewis, 9 Rhodri Williams, 8 Ross Moriarty, 7 Ben Fry, 6 Harri Keddie (captain), 5 Will Rowlands, 4 Joe Davies, 3 Leon Brown, 2 Elliot Dee, 1 Greg Bateman

Substitutes: 16 Taylor Davies, 17 Aki Seiuli, 18 Mesake Doge, 19 Huw Taylor, 20 Taine Basham, 21 Lewis Jones, 22 Will Reed, 23 Jordan Williams

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media [https://tdpelmedia.com]↯↯↯