Tinubu Submits Ministerial Nominees to Senate Ahead of Constitutional Deadline

…By for TDPel Media. President Bola Tinubu has officially forwarded his list of ministerial nominees to the Senate on Thursday morning.


Among the names included are former Rivers State governor, Nyesom Wike, and Kaduna governor, Nasir El-Rufai.

Meeting Constitutional Deadline for Cabinet Unveiling

The submission comes just two days before the President’s deadline, as required by the constitution amended by the ninth Assembly.

According to the 1999 constitution, as amended, President Tinubu has less than 48 hours remaining to unveil his cabinet members.


Constitutional Provisions for Ministerial Nominations

Section 42 of the constitution outlines the process for nominating individuals for the position of Minister, which requires confirmation by the Senate within 60 days after the President’s inauguration.

Additionally, the constitution mandates that at least ten percent of appointed Ministers must be women.

However, the President has the flexibility to appoint a Minister at any other time during his tenure, subject to Senate confirmation.

Furthermore, the constitution stipulates that the President must appoint at least one Minister from each of the 36 states in the federation.

Anticipation for the Official Unveiling

Earlier, the media aide to the Senate President, Jackson Udom, had informed the public that the authentic ministerial list from President Tinubu would be unveiled on this day.


He urged Nigerians to refrain from speculating and to wait for the official announcement of the nominees.

Addressing a purported list circulating on social media, Udom urged patience until the genuine list is made public.

He assured that the wait would be over soon as the official list would be revealed today.


Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media