King Charles expresses his appreciation to Archbishop of Canterbury Justin Welby and other notable figures from his Coronation by including them in the New Year Honours list.

nds beyond the expected circles, recognizing various individuals for their diverse roles in the event. Among these recipients, the Most Reverend Justin Welby, 67, receives a notable recognition within the Royal Victorian Order for his dedicated ‘personal service’ to the Crown. Despite potential scrutiny due to his involvement in political matters, this honor, revealed by the Daily Mail earlier, signifies his pivotal role during May’s Coronation. Interestingly, it marks only the second occasion in recent history that an incumbent leader of the Church of England has been granted such distinction, the last being Archbishop Geoffrey Fisher in 1953, crowning the late Queen Elizabeth.

Diverse Contributions Acknowledged

Alongside Archbishop Welby, a range of individuals instrumental to the Coronation are acknowledged for their contributions. David Michael Hoyle, Dean of Westminster Abbey, assumes the role of Lieutenant of the Royal Victorian Order (LVO), while Sir Antonio Pappano, conductor of the Coronation Orchestra, is appointed Commander of the Royal Victorian Order (CVO). Recognitions also extend to Mark Appleby, the crown jeweller, and advisors David Whelton and James Williams, all receiving the LVO for their respective roles.

Varied Roles and Recognitions

The diversity of roles contributing to the Coronation’s success is highlighted further by the range of honorees. From Barry James Whearty, the Windsor Crown Estate painter and decorator, to Timothy Rayson, the axe keeper of the Honourable Corps of Gentlemen at Arms, each receives the Royal Victorian Medal. Even Christopher Tombling, head chef to the Royal Household, is honored as a Member of the Royal Victorian Order (MVO).

About the Royal Victorian Order

The Royal Victorian Order, established by Queen Victoria in 1896, serves as a means to acknowledge distinguished personal service to the sovereign. Its five membership grades include the prestigious Knight Grand Cross of the Royal Victorian Order (GCVO) and Knight Commander (KCVO). Recipients of these higher ranks are entitled to use the title Sir and append letters after their names, although clergy members refrain from utilizing this title in their daily lives. The nuances of the order’s insignia and attire, contingent upon the grade received, further exemplify the honor’s distinctions and ceremonial significance.

Post-Honor Implications

While Archbishop Welby’s designation as a Knight Commander of the Royal Victorian Order signifies a significant honor, customary usage of the title Sir may not be immediate. Ecclesiastical appointments to higher levels within the Order do not typically translate into everyday use of titles. Consequently, Dr. Welby’s adoption of the title Sir may occur in due time, in alignment with the conventions associated with such prestigious recognition.

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)