Emmy Winner Jennifer Coolidge Pokes Fun at ‘Evil Gays’ in Whimsical Acceptance Speech for The White Lotus

A Comic Acknowledgment of “Evil Gays”

In a delightful twist at the Emmy Awards, Jennifer Coolidge, the 62-year-old star known for her role as Tanya McQuoid in The White Lotus, won the Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series.

Her acceptance speech was filled with humor and gratitude.

During her acceptance speech, Coolidge humorously expressed gratitude to ‘all the evil gays’ while holding her Emmy for The White Lotus. The lighthearted moment added a playful touch to the evening.

Jokes About Emmy Trophy and Prior Year’s Hook Incident

Playfully placing her Emmy on the floor, Coolidge quipped that she didn’t have the strength to hold it.

She also reminded the audience about getting the hook last year when her speech ran on for too long. This time, she kept it short and sweet.

Thanks to The White Lotus Creator and Acknowledgment of Character Fate

Expressing gratitude to The White Lotus creator, Mike White, Coolidge thanked him for the opportunity to portray the character Tanya McQuoid.

She humorously added, “He says I’m definitely dead, so I’m going along with it,” referring to her character’s fate in the show.

Anthony Anderson’s Mother Steps In

As Coolidge’s time on stage extended, Anthony Anderson’s mother, Doris Bowman, serving as the Emmys’ ‘play-off mama,’ stood up to gently remind her about time constraints.

With a loving tone, Bowman urged Coolidge to wrap up her speech.

The White Lotus Plot Twist Inspiration

Coolidge’s character in The White Lotus, Tanya McQuoid, discovered in the season two finale that a group of gay men she befriended on her holiday was plotting to kill her for her fortune.

This plot twist became one of the show’s most memorable moments.

Emmys 2024 Highlights: Succession and The Bear Lead Wins

Succession and The Bear dominated the Emmy Awards, each earning six trophies. Succession secured Best Drama Series, while The Bear claimed the title of Best Comedy Series. The star-studded ceremony celebrated the outstanding achievements in television.

Succession’s Big Night: Best Drama Series and Acting Honors

Succession was named Best Drama series for the third time, and its actors, Kieran Culkin, Sarah Snook, and Matthew Macfadyen, received acting trophies for their compelling performances within the Roy family dynamics.

The Bear’s Triumph: Best Comedy Series and Individual Achievements

Similar to Succession, The Bear had a triumphant night, securing the Best Comedy Series prize. Jeremy Allen White, Ayo Edebiri, and Ebon Moss-Bachrach won individual awards for their contributions to the FX series.

Beef’s Epic Night: Best Limited Series and Lead Actor/Actress Honors

Ali Wong and Steven Yeun led Beef to victory in the limited series or movie categories, earning Lead Actress and Actor awards, respectively.

The Netflix series also clinched the title of Best Limited Series.

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Read Related News On TDPel Media

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)