Cabinet approves establishment of 12 Universities

The Federal Executive Council has approved the establishment of 12 new universities across Nigeria.

The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed disclosed this to State House Correspondents at the end of this week’s meeting of the council presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari.

He listed the benefitting states to include Kano, Niger, Gombe, Sokoto, Delta, Abia, Anambra and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

”Council approved the memo for the issuance of provisional licences for the establishment of 12  proposed private universities.

“The proposed private universities are Pen Resource University Gombe, Gombe State, Al-Ansar University, Maiduguri, Borno State, Margaret Lawrence I University, Delta State, Khalifa Ishaku Rabiu University Kano, Kano State,  Sports University Idumuje Ugboko, Delta State, Bala Ahmed University Kano, Saisa University of Medical Sciences and Technology, Sokoto State, Nigerian-British University Hasa, Abia State and Peter University Acina-Onene, Anambra State as well as Newgate University, Minna, Niger State, the European University of Nigeria in Duboyi, Abuja and the North-West University Sokoto. ”

Mohammed said the Minister of State-Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba presented the memo on behalf of the National Universities Commission and it was approved by the cabinet.

He said each of the new universities will be mentored by the old universities that are close to them.


»Share Your Opinion On TDPel Media«