Three Anambra Monarchs Withdraw Honors Conferred on Senator Ifeanyi Ubah

Three Anambra Monarchs Withdraw Honors Conferred on Senator Ifeanyi Ubah

Traditional Rulers’ Reversal Raises Eyebrows

In a surprising turn of events, three traditional rulers in Anambra State have decided to withdraw the chieftaincy titles they recently bestowed upon Senator Ifeanyi Ubah, the representative of Anambra South senatorial zone.

The decision comes amid a wave of suspensions of traditional rulers by the Anambra State Government for alleged violations of due process in title conferment.

Government Acts Against Negligence in Title Awarding

The unfolding drama began earlier this month when the Anambra State Government suspended the traditional ruler of Neni Community, His Royal Highness Damian Ezeani, Igwe Ugonabo, for conferring chieftaincy titles on Senator Ifeanyi Ubah.

Governor Chukwuma Soludo cited negligence of due process as stipulated in the traditional rulers’ council law, prompting a series of repercussions.

Senator Ubah Receives Titles from Different Traditional Rulers

Senator Ifeanyi Ubah, representing Anambra South District, was honored with several titles by various traditional rulers in Anambra State.

The titles included Ikemba Ojoto (strength of Ojoto community), Odenjiinji Neni (Warrior of Neni Community), and Dike Eji Eje Ogu (warrior who goes to battle).

The multiple honors, however, would later become the center of a controversy that led to the withdrawal of the titles.

Monarchs Express Regret and Withdraw Titles in Apology

In an unexpected development, the traditional rulers who conferred the titles on Senator Ifeanyi Ubah tendered apologies to Governor Chukwuma Soludo and the Anambra State Government.

The apology, delivered on Tuesday night, was accompanied by the withdrawal and cancellation of the chieftaincy titles.

The Press Secretary to the state governor, Mr. Christian Aburime, confirmed the monarchs’ remorseful stance.

Titles Cancelled in Violation of Traditional Rulers’ Code

According to the Press Secretary’s statement, the actions of the three traditional rulers were deemed a direct violation of the State Traditional Rulers’ code.

The code outlines the rules and regulations governing the granting and revocation of chieftaincy titles.

Consequently, the titles of Ikemba Ojoto, Odenjiinji Neni, and Dike Eji Eje Ogu, initially conferred on Senator Ifeanyi Ubah, have been officially withdrawn and cancelled by the respective Igwes, marking them as null and void.

TDPel Media

This article was published on TDPel Media. Thanks for reading!

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)