Kolisi’s autobiography nominated for top sports book award!

Kolisi’s autobiography nominated for top sports book award!

The shortlists for the 20th Sports Book Awards in association with The Sunday Times were announced on Thursday. The nominations feature some of the greatest sports men and women in a diverse collection of works across 11 award categories, with Siya Kolisi’s autobiography ‘Rise’ included among some elite company.

The shortlist for 2022 includes Billie Jean King, Siya Kolisi, Michael Holding, Frankie Dettori, Peter Schmeichel, Patrice Evra, Alun Wyn Jones, Clare Balding, Ian Wright, Adam Peaty, Tony Bellew, Troy Deeney, Marcus Rashford, Phil Tufnell, Sir Geoff Hurst, David Flatman and Mark Durden-Smith, Henry Blofeld, Jake Humphrey, Rob Burrow, Paul Merson, Jamie Roberts, Elise Christie, Eddie Jones, Olivier Giroud and many more.

The Sports Book Awards in association with The Sunday Times is the major annual promotion for sports writing and publishing. The awards exist to highlight the most outstanding sports books of the previous calendar year to showcase their merits and to enhance their reputation and profile.

The 2022 categories will include The Pinsent Masons Best Sports Writing Award, The Arbuthnot Latham Rugby Book of the Year, The Fitzdares International Autobiography of the Year, The Heartaches’ Cricket Book of the Year sponsored by Sir Tim Rice, the iPRO Hydrate Sports Performance Book of the Year and the Children’s Sports Book of the Year in partnership with the National Literacy Trust.

Siya Kolisi is shortlisted with RISE for International Autobiography Book of the Year

“Having RISE being shortlisted as International Autobiography of The Year means a lot to me,” he commented. “I take it as a personal charge to keep working hard on myself, at home, on the field and in our communities. I continue to be grateful to the many communities and book team that played a role in shaping the story of RISE.”

The Sports Book Awards are judged by an outstanding academy including The Football Writers’ Association, The Rugby Union Writers’ Club, The Cricket Society, National Literacy Trust, Christine Ohuruogu, Adam Smith – the voice of Sky Boxing, Guillem Balagué – La Liga BBC Sport correspondent, Annie Vernon – Beijing Olympic rowing silver medallist with Dame Katherine Grainger, Seema Jaswal – ITV Sport and BBC Sport host, Jill Douglas and Simon Brotherton – the BBC Olympic Games cycling commentary team, Simon Halliday – former Bath and Harlequins and England Centre and Nick Greenslade Deputy Sports Editor of The Sunday Times.

In addition, a public vote is now open to find the winners in 4 categories at sportsbookawards.com – Autobiography of the Year, International Autobiography of the Year, Sports Performance Book of the Year and Sports Entertainment Book of the Year.

The Sports Book Awards, in association with The Sunday Times will take place at the Kia Oval on 26th May, presented by Mark Pougatch. To celebrate the 20th anniversary of the awards a special award to the Best Sports Book of the 21st Century will be presented to a previous winner.

Fitzdares International Autobiography of the Year
  • All In: The Autobiography of Billie Jean King, Billie Jean King (Viking)
  • Always Believe, Olivier Giroud with Dominique Rouch (Pitch Publishing)
  • I Love This Game, Patrice Evra (Simon and Schuster UK)
  • Leap of Faith, Frankie Dettori (HarperCollins)
  • One: My Autobiography, Peter Schmeichel (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Rise: The Brand New Autobiography, Siya Kolisi (HarperCollins)

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media ↯↯↯

»Share Your Opinion On TDPel Media«