Bishops elect new secretary, committee chairs at fall meeting in Baltimore

The U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops elected Archbishop Paul S. Coakley as conference secretary as well as six new chairmen-elect on Nov. 14 at their fall plenary assembly in Baltimore.

The bishops overwhelmingly voted in Coakley of the Archdiocese of Oklahoma City as secretary-elect and chairman-elect of the Committee on Priorities and Plans. He was chosen over Archbishop Alexander K. Sample of the Archdiocese of Portland, Oregon, by a vote of 187 to 55.

Coakley already serves as secretary, since he was elected last year to fill the position, which was left vacant when Archbishop Timothy P. Broglio was elected USCCB president. His new three-year term will begin at the adjournment of the 2024 fall general assembly.

The chairmen-elect will serve in their roles for one year before assuming the position of “secretary” and “chairman” at the adjournment of the 2024 fall meeting, when they will begin their three-year terms.

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)