Trace Awards 2023 Nominees Unveiled: Top Contenders in Nigerian Music Industry

Trace Awards 2023 Nominees Unveiled: Top Contenders in Nigerian Music Industry


For its first-ever music awards, the trace awards 2023, Trace has revealed the complete list of nominees.

Asake, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, Ayra Starr, Yemi Adele, and Fireboy DML each received three nominations, while Davido and Burna Boy each received four.

In two categories, Rema and Kizz Daniel have received nominations.

The trace awards 2023 is a highly competitive event, with some of the biggest names in the Nigerian music industry vying for recognition.

With such a diverse range of talent, it will be interesting to see who takes home the coveted awards in each category.


Some gifted Nigerian musicians on the list for the award include Odumodublvck, Oxlade, The Compozers, Moses Bliss, DJ Spinall, Olamide, BNXN, Show Dem Camp, and Nissi.

The ceremony is scheduled for October 21, 2023, at BK Arena in Kigali, Rwanda.

The award ceremony aims to celebrate and recognize these Nigerian musicians’ exceptional talent and contributions to the music industry.

It will be a highly anticipated event, bringing together fans, industry professionals, and artists across Nigeria and beyond.

These talented musicians have significantly contributed to the Nigerian music industry with their unique styles and impressive discographies.


The BK Arena in Kigali, Rwanda, will serve as a fitting venue for this highly anticipated event, showcasing the vibrancy and diversity of African music.

Best Male

Asake (Nigeria)
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
Didi B (Ivory Coast)
K.O (south africa)
Rema (Nigeria)

Best Female

Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
Josey (Ivory Coast)
Nadia Mukami (Kenya)
Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)
Viviane Chidid (Senegal)


Song of the Year

“BKBN” – Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)
“People” – Libianca (Cameroon)
“Suavemente” – Soolking (France)
“Encre” – Emma’a (Gabon)
“Sugarcane” – Camidoh (Ghana)
“Last Last” – Burna Boy (Nigeria)
“Rush” – Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
“Calm Down” – Rema (Nigeria)
“Peru” – Fireboy DML (Nigeria) with Ed Sheeran (UK)
“Sete” – K.O (south africa)
“Cough” – Kizz Daniel (Nigeria)
“MORTEL 06” – Innoss’B (Ivory Coast)

Best Music Video

“2 Sugar” – Wizkid (Nigeria) feat. Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
“Baddie” – Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
“Kpaflotage” – Suspect 95 (Ivory Coast)
“Loaded” – Tiwa Savage(Nigeria) & Asake (Nigeria)
“Ronda” – Blxckie (South Africa)
“Tombolo” – Kalash (Martinique)
Yatapita” – Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Best Newcomer


Azawi (Uganda)
Krys M (Cameroon)
Libianca (Cameroon)
Nissi (Nigeria)
Odumodublvck (Nigeria)
Pabi Cooper (South Africa)
Roseline Layo (Ivory Coast)

Best Collaboration

“Many Ways” – BNXN (Nigeria) with Wizkid (Nigeria)
“Mine” – Show Dem Camp (Nigeria) with Oxlade (Nigeria)
“Peru” – Fireboy DML (Nigeria) with Ed Sheeran (UK)
“Second Sermon” – Black Sherif (Ghana) with Burna Boy (Nigeria)
“Sete” – K.O (South Africa) with Young Stunna (South Africa), Blxckie (South Africa)
“Stamina” – Tiwa Savage with Ayra Starr (Nigeria) & Young Jonn (Nigeria)
“Trumpet” – Olamide (Nigeria) with Ckay (Nigeria)
“Unavailable” – Davido (Nigeria) with Musa Keys (South Africa)

Best DJ

Danni Gato (Cape Verde)
DJ BDK (Ivory Coast)
DJ Illans (France)
DJ Spinall (Nigeria)
Michael Brun (Haiti)
Uncle Waffles (Swaziland)


Best Producer

DJ Maphorisa (South Africa)
juls (Ghana)
Kabza De Small (South Africa)
Kel-P (Nigeria)
Tamsir (Ivory Coast)

Best Gospel Artist

Benjamin Dube (South Africa)
Janet Otieno (Kenya)
KS Bloom (Ivory Coast)
Levixone (Uganda)
Moses Bliss (Nigeria)

Best Live


Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Fally Ipupa (DRC)
Musa Keys (South Africa)
The Compozers (Nigeria)
Wizkid (Nigeria)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Dancer

Robot Boii (South Africa)
Tayc (France)
Uganda Ghetto Kids (Uganda)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
Zuchu (Tanzania)

Best Artist Africa – Anglophone

Asake (Nigeria)
Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
Black Sherif (Ghana)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
Fireboy DML (Nigeria)


Best Artist Africa – Francophone

Didi B (Ivory Coast)
Emma’a (Gabon)
Fally Ipupa (DRC)
KO-C (Cameroon)
Locko (Cameroon)
Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast)
Viviane Chidid (Senegal)

Best Artist Africa – Lusophone

Gerilson Israel (Angola)
Lisandro Cuxi (Cape Verde)
Perola (Angola)
Plutonio (Mozambique)
Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)

Best Artist – Rwanda


Ariel Wayz (Rwanda)
Bruce Melodie (Rwanda)
Bwiza (Rwanda)
Chriss Eazy (Rwanda)
Kenny Sol (Rwanda)

Best Artist – France & Belgium

Aya Nakamura (France)
Booba (France)
Nihno (France)
Ronisia (France)
Soolking (France)
Tayc (France)

Best Artist – UK

Central Cee (UK)
Headie One (UK)
Ms Banks (UK)
Raye (UK)
Stormzy (UK)


Best Artist – The Caribbean

Admiral T (Guadeloupe)
Bamby (French Guiana)
Kalash (Martinique)
Maureen (Martinique)
popcaan (Jamaica)
Princess Lover (Martinique)
Rutshelle Guillaume (Haiti)
Shenseea (Jamaica)

Best Artist – Indian Ocean

Donovan BTS (Mauritius)
GaEi (Madagascar)
Goulam (Comoros)
Mikl (Reunion)
Sega el (Reunion)
Terell Elymoor (Mayotte)

Best Artist – Brazil


Djonga (Brazil)
Iza (Brazil)
Leo Santana (Brazil)
Ludmilla (Brazil)
Luedji Luna (Brazil)

Best Artist – North Africa

Amira Zouhair (Morocco)
Artmasta (Tunisia)
Dystinct (Morocco)
El Grande toto (Morocco)
Kader Japonais (Algeria)
Raja Meziane (Algeria)

Album Of The Year

“DNK”- Aya Nakamura (France)
“love Damini” – Burna Boy (Nigeria)
“Maverick” – Kizz Daniel (Nigeria)
“More love, Less Ego” – Wizkid (Nigeria)
“timeless” – Davido (Nigeria)
“Work of Art” – Asake (Nigeria)


Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media