Saudi Arabian Grand Prix: Live Formula 1 updates

Saudi Arabian Grand Prix: Live Formula 1 updates

Sergio Perez claimed his first ever Formula One pole at the 215th attempt when the Mexican upstaged Red Bull teammate and world champion Max Verstappen in qualifying for the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix on Saturday.

Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc joins Perez on the front row with Verstappen on the second row after qualifying in fourth behind the other Ferrari of Carlos Sainz.

Saturday’s qualifying was marred by a horror crash suffered by Mick Schumacher, which ruled him out of the race, and Lewis Hamilton’s shock elimination in the opening Q1 session for the first time since 2017.

It was a dramatic session coming just hours after it was confirmed the weekend action would go ahead following lengthy talks overnight about racing in the aftermath of Friday’s missile strike by Yemen’s Huthi rebels on the nearby Aramco fuel plant.

“It took me a couple of races! But what a lap man, it was unbelievable!” said Perez, the first Mexican to head an F1 grid.

“I could do 2,000 laps and I couldn’t beat that one! he added.

Verstappen described his first lap in Q3 as “terrible”, adding: “I didn’t really feel comfortable. Checo did a great job today and I am very happy for him.”


Saudi Arabian Grand Prix Starting Grid

Starting grid for Sunday’s Saudi Arabian Grand Prix, the second round of the 2022 Formula One world championship:

Front row:

Sergio Perez (MEX/Red Bull)

Charles Leclerc (MON/Ferrari)

2nd row:

Carlos Sainz (ESP/Ferrari)

Max Verstappen (NED/Red Bull)

3rd row:

Esteban Ocon (FRA/Alpine-Renault)

George Russell (GBR/Mercedes)

4th row:

Fernando Alonso (ESP/Alpine-Renault)

Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Alfa Romeo-Ferrari)

5th row:

Pierre Gasly (FRA/AlphaTauri-Red Bull)

Kevin Magnussen (DEN/Haas-Ferrari)

6th row:

Lando Norris (GBR/McLaren-Mercedes)

Zhou Guanyu (CHN/Alfa Romeo-Ferrari)

7th row:

Lance Stroll (CAN/Aston Martin-Mercedes)

Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/McLaren-Mercedes)

8th row

Lewis Hamilton (GBR/Mercedes)

Alexander Albon (THA/Williams-Mercedes)

9th row

Nico Huelkenberg (GER/Aston Martin-Mercedes)

Nicholas Latifi (CAN/Williams-Mercedes)

10th row

Yuki Tsunoda (JPN/AlphaTauri-Honda)

Will not start: Mick Schumacher (GER/Haas-Ferrari)

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media ↯↯↯