Rival coach: Gone are the days of talking about Chiefs, Pirates dominance

Rival coach: Gone are the days of talking about Chiefs, Pirates dominance

Mamelodi Sundowns were crowned 2021/22 DStv Premiership champions for the fifth season in succession following their goalless draw against Cape Town City FC at Loftus Versfeld on Wednesday. Sundowns in fact now have more PSL titles (12) than Chiefs (4), Pirates (4) and SuperSport United (3) combined.

A host of records tumbled as Sundowns continued their dominance over local rivals, claiming the top-flight title for a 12th time. Masandawana only needed to avoid defeat to take an unassailable lead in the standings which they did without too much fuss.

Ultimately, the Brazilians secured a point to successfully defend their championship as they retained their number one spot with 58 points in the DStv Premiership with four matches left to play and 13 points ahead of second placed Royal AM .

The club is now preparing for the semi-final stage of the Nedbank Cup where they will play against Royal AM in KwaZulu-Natal on Saturday, 30 April.

Pirates are fourth on the PSL log, one place ahead of Chiefs

Meanwhile, Cape Town City and Chiefs are the only local teams who will be involved in PSL action this weekend as the two sides get ready for a re-scheduled match from December.

Speaking to media this week, Eric Tinkler highlighted how it’s really a case of playing catch-up to Sundowns, even for famed clubs such as Chiefs and Pirates.

Check out some of the facts, figures and celebrations below:


1996/97 – Manning Rangers

1997/98 – Masandawana

1998/99 – Masandawana

1999/00 – Masandawana

2000/01 – Orlando Pirates

2001/02 – Santos

2002/03 – Orlando Pirates

2003/04 – Kaizer Chiefs

2004/05 – Kaizer Chiefs

2005/06 – Masandawana

2006/07 – Masandawana

2007/08 – SuperSport United

2008/09 – SuperSport United

2009/10 – SuperSport United

2010/11 – Orlando Pirates

2011/12 – Orlando Pirates

2012/13 – Kaizer Chiefs

2013/14 – Masandawana

2014/15 – Kaizer Chiefs

2015/16 – Masandawana

2016/17 – Wits

2017/18 – Masandawana

2018/19 – Masandawana

2019/20 – Masandawana

2020/21 – Masandawana

2021/22 – Masandawana


12 – Masandawana

4 – Orlando Pirates, Kaizer Chiefs

3 – SuperSport United

1 – Manning Rangers, Santos, Wits

TDPel Media

This article was published on TDPel Media. Thanks for reading!

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)