NFL MVP Finalists Revealed – Lamar Jackson Favored for Second Win

NFL MVP Finalists Revealed – Lamar Jackson Favored for Second Win

The NFL has unveiled the finalists for this season’s MVP award, generating anticipation as the winner will be announced on February 8, just ahead of the Super Bowl.

Baltimore Ravens’ quarterback Lamar Jackson stands out as the frontrunner, having already secured the MVP title in 2019.

The shortlist, announced on Thursday, includes prominent names such as Josh Allen, Dak Prescott, Christian McCaffrey, and Brock Purdy.

Lamar Jackson’s Dominance:

Jackson, a quarterback for the Baltimore Ravens, is poised as the favorite for the MVP, having showcased exceptional performance during the season.

His impressive stats include 3,678 passing yards, 24 touchdowns, 821 rushing yards, and five scores.

Jackson’s pivotal role in leading the Ravens to a 14-4 record, the best in the league, and securing a playoff win over Houston has earned him significant acclaim.

Competitive Finalists:

The list of MVP finalists comprises quarterbacks Josh Allen (Buffalo Bills) and Dak Prescott (Dallas Cowboys), along with the dynamic duo from the San Francisco 49ers, Christian McCaffrey and Brock Purdy.

Notably, McCaffrey is the sole non-quarterback contender, emphasizing the significance of his contributions.

Positional Recognition: Offensive Player of the Year:

Apart from the MVP race, Jackson, McCaffrey, and Allen find themselves vying for the Offensive Player of the Year.

This dual recognition highlights their exceptional contributions on the offensive front during the season.

Joining them as finalists for Offensive Player of the Year are Tyreek Hill (Miami Dolphins) and CeeDee Lamb (Dallas Cowboys).

Coach of the Year Candidates:

The NFL also announced the finalists for Coach of the Year, with Dan Campbell (Detroit Lions), John Harbaugh (Baltimore Ravens), DeMeco Ryans (Houston Texans), Kyle Shanahan (San Francisco 49ers), and Kevin Stefanski (Cleveland Browns) in contention.

Each coach has demonstrated remarkable leadership, with Campbell notably guiding the Lions to their first NFC Championship game in several decades.

Comeback Player of the Year:

The Comeback Player of the Year category features inspiring stories, including Joe Flacco (Cleveland Browns), Damar Hamlin (Buffalo Bills), Baker Mayfield (Tampa Bay Buccaneers), Matthew Stafford (Los Angeles Rams), and Tua Tagovailoa (Miami Dolphins).

Hamlin’s remarkable return after suffering cardiac arrest adds a compelling narrative to this category.

Team Recognition:

The San Francisco 49ers emerge as both Super Bowl contenders and favorites for the Vince Lombardi Trophy.

Quarterback Brock Purdy’s journey from “Mr. Irrelevant” to MVP contender adds a fairy-tale element to the season.

Purdy, however, humbly backs his teammate, Christian McCaffrey, for the MVP award, showcasing team camaraderie and mutual respect.


As the excitement builds towards the MVP announcement on February 8, the finalists represent a diverse range of talents and narratives.

The recognition extends beyond individual achievements to include coaches and players who have overcome challenges.

The inclusion of positional awards adds depth to the celebration of excellence in the NFL, making the upcoming awards ceremony a highlight of the football season.