Kwara State PDP elects former Speaker as Chairman

Kwara State PDP elects former Speaker as Chairman

The Kwara State Chapter of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has elected the former Speaker on the Kwara State House of Assembly, Alhaji Babatunde Mohammed as its new Chairman.

Mohammed replaced Kola Shittu who has served over three years in office.

The Party adopted consensus to elect the new Executives.

Mallam Shehu Abdulkadir led the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC’s team to the event.

He disclosed that the Commission had resolved to remain impartial in the conduct of the exercise.

Former Commissioner for Communication, Kwara State, Alhaji Babatunde Ajeigbe administered the Oath of Office to the new party leaders.

In his remarks, the National leader of the PDP and former Senate President, Bukola Saraki said; ”the peaceful congress was a sign that the party is ready to lead and take back power in the state.

Saraki congratulated the leaders and followers for making the peaceful event possible by agreeing to the consensus approach.

He thanked the outgoing executives led by Kola Shittu for the services they rendered to the state.

“We are determined to go and retake our mandate.

“We made history today by given of organising Secretary to a woman unlike the sole position of woman leader.

We also have majority of our members as youth and we are showing that we are ready to chart the way for political party administration in Nigeria,” the former Senate President stated.

He urged the new executives to go back to their various wards and champion the message that PDP is coming back adding that 2023 electioneering has commenced.

In his acceptance Speech, the new Chairman, Mr Mohammed thanked the PDP for the confidence reposed in him and other members of the newly elected executives.

He said the new executives would work assiduously to return to power come 2023.

Mr Mohammed however, enlisted the support of Saraki and the entire party members to continue to support the party to return to power in 2023.

The Chairman of the electoral committee  from Abuja, John Aparachi, said Kwara has adopted a consensus adding that ”It is good that the Kwara people are in line with what the national leadership has called for to have a peaceful Congress.

Other newly elected executives include; Alh Rasaq Lawal (Secretary), Alhaja Risqat Abdullahi (Women Leader), Alhaja Balikis Oniyangi (Organising Sec), Comrade Dan Iyan Dantsoho (Youth Leader), Tunde Ashaolu (PRO), Comrade Bisi Fakayode (Kwara South Senatorial Leader) among others.

Mercy Chukwudiebere
Kwara State PDP elects former Speaker as Chairman

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media Below↯↯↯

»Share Your Opinion On TDPel Media«