Kebbi State says goodbye to 21 local government chairmen

The Kebbi State Governor, Alhaji Atiku Bagudu, gave an exit salute to the 21 local government council chairmen whose tenure ended on November 4, 2021.

Bagudu, shortly after holding a meeting with the outgoing chairmen in Birnin Kebbi on Thursday, expressed appreciation of the people and government of the state for their invaluable efforts for the two years they served in their various localities.

He also expressed delight with the performance of the outgoing chairmen and the progress recorded in both the local governments and state governments.

“They have contributed to the progress recorded in both the state and local government areas.

I acknowledged the state government’s gratitude to them and prayed for them and for the councillors who could not come to Government House.

I sent a message of acknowledgement to them.

For some of them who the law allows contesting, we wish them well and call upon our society to acknowledge that whoever gives his best deserves appreciation.

“For those who the law prohibits from contesting again, they will be part and parcel of this government and beyond.

Most of them are young, and we expect to see them playing different roles in our national life,” the governor said.

Shehu Mashal, who spoke on behalf of the outgoing council chairmen, expressed appreciation to the governor for his confidence in them.

He also acknowledged the myriad of developments recorded in local government areas under the present administration.

“We also used the opportunity to commiserate with the governor over the death of Alhaji Garba Dandiga, the former Commissioner for Agriculture,” he said.

Also speaking, the Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Alhaji Hassan Muhammad-Shalla, appreciated the performance of the outgoing chairmen, adding that they had put in their best for the development of the state.

“The most senior officer will take charge of each local government area, pending the time for the local government election, scheduled to hold on February 5 2022,” he said.

Further reports state that the outgoing local government council chairmen were inaugurated on November 4 2019, two years ago, after the October 26 LG council election in 2019.

 Suzan O/NAN
Kebbi State says goodbye to 21 local government chairmen

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media ↯↯↯

»Share Your Opinion On TDPel Media«