Girls Aloud Honors Late Bandmate Sarah Harding in Reunion Concert

Girls Aloud Honors Late Bandmate Sarah Harding in Reunion Concert

Girls Aloud made a poignant return to the stage in Dublin on Friday night, marking their first live performance in 11 years.

The reunion tour’s opening night was dedicated to their late bandmate, Sarah Harding, who tragically passed away from cancer in 2021.

The remaining members, Nadine Coyle, Cheryl, Nicola Roberts, and Kimberley Walsh, honored Sarah in a heartfelt and emotional performance that left fans deeply moved.

A Tribute Through Song

The concert was designed with Sarah Harding at its center. The group performed a moving rendition of “I’ll Stand By You” featuring a video of Sarah and her recorded vocals.

Before starting the song, Nadine Coyle addressed the audience, saying, “We’re going to do a duet with Sarah tonight.

It’s going to be us, Sarah, and you. Let’s do this together.” As Sarah’s voice played, her bandmates sang live on stage, creating a powerful and emotional moment for everyone in attendance.

Beginning with Memories

The show opened with “Untouchable,” set against a backdrop of footage of Sarah displayed on pink curtains.

This set the tone for the evening, ensuring that Sarah’s presence was felt from the start.

Later in the performance, they dedicated “Whole Lotta History” to Sarah, with Nicola Roberts reflecting, “When we recorded this next song 19 years ago, we had no idea 19 years later it would become so poignant on our journey.”

Emotional Messages from the Band

Throughout the concert, the members of Girls Aloud shared their emotions and gratitude with the audience.

Kimberley Walsh said, “Standing here feeling all the emotions you’re feeling. I hope you know it means as much to us as it means to you.”

Cheryl added, “Thank you for your support through everything we went through with Sarah. It’s hard to believe, but it’s such a beautiful thing to be on stage with these ladies again.”

Fans’ Reactions

After the show, the band took to Twitter to express their gratitude, writing, “Show 1 done. Dublin, you were absolutely INCREDIBLE. What a start to the #TheGirlsAloudShow tour.”

Fans responded with messages of support and admiration, such as, “Amazing show! So entertaining, with beautiful tributes to Sarah. Well done, girls.” Another fan wrote, “You did Sarah proud! Love you all so much! See you next month.”

A Tour Dedicated to Sarah

The reunion tour is not just a celebration of the band’s music but also a tribute to Sarah Harding’s legacy.

The group had planned to reunite for their 20th anniversary, but Sarah’s diagnosis and subsequent passing changed their priorities.

Cheryl explained, “We all started talking about the possibility of doing something to celebrate Girls Aloud’s 20-year anniversary a few years ago. But when Sarah fell ill, all priorities changed.”

Finding the Right Time

Now, the group feels it is the right time to celebrate both Sarah and their music. Kimberley Walsh shared, “Over the last year, we’ve felt this outpouring of love – obviously towards Sarah, but actually towards all of us as a group.

It feels like the right time to celebrate Sarah and the 20-year anniversary that we didn’t celebrate at the time.”

A Shared Experience with Fans

The band hopes that their fans will find joy and healing in the tour. Nadine Coyle stated, “Girls Aloud are a band that made such a huge impact on people’s lives.

We grew up with the band, but so did so many other people. For us not to do something again feels like such a shame and a waste. We want to have that moment with fans where we can all enjoy it together.”

The Tour Setlist

The setlist for the tour includes many of the group’s biggest hits, ensuring a night of nostalgia and celebration for fans. The songs performed include:

  • “Untouchable”
  • “The Show”
  • “Something New”
  • “Love Machine”
  • “Can’t Speak French”
  • “Biology”
  • “Whole Lotta History” (Sarah tribute)
  • “Wake Me Up”
  • “Sound of the Underground”
  • “Girl Overboard”
  • “No Good Advice”
  • “Graffiti My Soul”
  • “Long Hot Summer”
  • “I’ll Stand By You” (starts with Sarah solo)
  • “Sexy No No No”
  • “On The Metro”
  • “Jump”
  • “Call The Shots”
  • “Something Kinda Ooh”
  • “The Promise”

Conclusion: A Night to Remember

Girls Aloud’s return to the stage in Dublin was a night filled with emotion, music, and heartfelt tributes.

As they continue their tour, they carry the memory of Sarah Harding with them, celebrating her life and the incredible journey they all shared.

Fans can look forward to more unforgettable performances as the tour progresses, with each night serving as a tribute to the lasting impact of Girls Aloud and their beloved bandmate, Sarah Harding.

TDPel Media

This article was published on TDPel Media. Thanks for reading!

Share on Facebook «||» Share on Twitter «||» Share on Reddit «||» Share on LinkedIn

Advertisement: Download Vital Signs App (VS App)