CSA hands out contracts to Proteas players for next season – including TWO new ones!

CSA hands out contracts to Proteas players for next season – including TWO new ones!

Petersen played a key role in the Test series victory over India at home this summer while Malan was named Emerging ODI Player of the Year by the ICC.

The contract upgrade system will again be in place this year and players selected for the Proteas during the 2022/23 season who are not contracted, can qualify for a performance-based national contract upgrade.

The Proteas team has a lot to look forward to in the coming 12 months, including a full tour to England and the T20 World Cup in Australia in October.

Newly appointed CSA CEO, Pholetsi Moseki said: “It is a very exciting time to be a part of the South African cricket set up and even more so, to be a member of the Proteas team.

“There is a lot of cricket for our fans to look forward to and we as an organisation, are looking forward to watching our boys represent us to the best of their ability at every opportunity.

“It has been an exceptional season for the white ball team that has not lost a series under the leadership of Temba Bavuma.

“One of the biggest upcoming highlights for us is the 2022 ICC T20 World Cup in Australia and we are looking forward to supporting Temba and his men as they look to make history later this year.

“The Test team has grown and shown significant improvement under the strong leadership of Dean Elgar.

“This season will see the Proteas play even more Test cricket, which is vital for the growth of the players, the format in our country, as well as the accumulation of points towards the ICC World Test Championship.

“We at CSA are big advocates of rewarding excellence and I am pleased to be the first to congratulate Janneman Malan and Keegan Petersen on their newly awarded contracts.”

CSA contracted players for 2022/23 season: 

Temba Bavuma, Dean Elgar, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media ↯↯↯