Bahrain Grand Prix: Starting grid on Sunday 20 March 2022

Bahrain Grand Prix: Starting grid on Sunday 20 March 2022

Carlos Sainz will start third on the grid in the second Ferrari ahead of Sergio Perez, with Leclerc 0.123 seconds faster than Red Bull’s Verstappen.

“It feels great!” says the narrator. “The last two years have been tremendously difficult for the team,” Leclerc said after securing his 10th Formula One pole.

“I believe we have worked incredibly well as a team, and we are quite pleased with today’s results.” I wasn’t fully satisfied with my driving, but I was able to complete that lap in Q3 and we will start from pole position, so I’m quite pleased.”

In the second Red Bull, Perez qualified fourth, ahead of Lewis Hamilton in fifth.

The sport’s most sweeping technical rule changes in 40 years, featuring new race management and all-new cars designed to create closer racing, may throw up some shocks this season.

The seven-time world champion was a distant 0.680sec off the pace in his Mercedes.

Valtteri Bottas qualified sixth for Alfa Romeo in his first session since leaving Mercedes at the end of last season.

Starting grid for the Bahrain Grand Prix
Scuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow’s Monaco Formula One driver Charles Leclerc climbs out of his car after winning pole position during qualifying for the Bahrain Grand Prix at the Bahrain International Circuit in Sakhir, Bahrain, on March 19, 2022. EPA/ALI HAIDER PHOTO

After qualifying on Saturday, the starting grid for Sunday’s Bahrain Grand Prix, the first round of the 2022 Formula One world championship:

in the first row:

MON/Charles Ferrari’s Leclerc

NEC/Red Bull’s Max Verstappen

Second row:

(ESP/Ferrari) Carlos Sainz Jr.

Sergio Perez (Red Bull/Mexico)

3rd line:

Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) (GBR)

Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) Valtteri Botta

4th row:

Kevin Magnussen (DEN/Haas-Ferrari)

Fernando Alonso (ESP/Alpine-Renault)

5th row:

George Russell (GBR/Mercedes)

Pierre Gasly (FRA/AlphaTauri-Red Bull)

6th row:

Esteban Ocon (FRA/Alpine-Renault)

Mick Schumacher (GER/Haas-Ferrari)

7th row:

Lando Norris (GBR/McLaren-Mercedes)

Alexander Albon (THA/Williams-Mercedes)

8th row:

Zhou Guanyu (CHN/Alfa Romeo-Ferrari)

Yuki Tsunoda (JPN/AlphaTauri-Red Bull)

9th row:

Nico Hulkenberg (GER/Aston Martin-Mercedes)

Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/McLaren-Mercedes)

10th row:

Lance Stroll (CAN/Aston Martin-Mercedes)

Nicholas Latifi (CAN/Williams-Mercedes)

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media ↯↯↯