Premier of Free State Sisi Ntombela, MECs left out in the cold

Premier of Free State Sisi Ntombela, MECs left out in the cold

Premier Sisi Ntombela of the Free State and all but one of her MECs failed to make the ANC provincial executive committee (PEC).

Mxolisi Dukwana was elected as the new leader of the party, defeating Ntombela, who was vying for the position of provincial chairperson of the ANC at the weekend’s election conference.

Dukwana is the only MEC that emerged unhurt from Ntombela’s administration.

Montsheng Tsiu, Tate Makgoe, Makalo Mohale, William Bulwane, Thembeni Ngxangisa, Limakatso Mahasa, Mamiki Qabathe, Gadija Brown, and provincial legislature speaker Zanele Sifuba did not make the list.

The absence of Makgoe, Ngxangisa, and Mohale caused several ANC provincial leaders to raise their eyebrows.

“This PEC list truly stunned us to our core. It has disappointed so many people. It’s a difficult pill to swallow,” remarked a leader of the ANC who requested anonymity. “How could Tate, Thembeni, and Makalo have been omitted from the new PEC? These are the province’s industrious MECs.”

Just last week, a different ANC politician stated that Makgoe, the Free State MEC for education, was being lauded for guiding the department to greater heights. This follows Thursday’s announcement by Basic Education Minister Angie Motshekga that the province’s Class of 2022 achieved the highest marks.

“I do not comprehend how he did not make the list. Even Makalo has been actively promoting tourism throughout the province. Even the racism scandal at the Maselspoot resort was handled by him.

“As head of the department of agriculture in the province, where new rising farmers were given a chance to grow, Thembeni also shown efficiency and tenacity, but strangely he did not make the PEC list. This is quite frustrating,” added the leader, who also chose to remain anonymous.

Dukwana’s spokesperson Sello Dithebe, the former spokesperson of the interim provincial committee (IPC) Oupa Khoabane, and National Council of Provinces chief whip Seiso Mohai, who served as MEC for public works, roads, transport, and finances under former premier Beatrice Marshoff, are among the new PEC members. In 2013, Mohai was dismissed by former premier Ace Magashule.

Jabu Mbalula, the brother of ANC secretary-general Fikile Mbalula, is an additional noteworthy newcomer to the PEC. Former IPC head of elections Saki Mokoena and Deputy Minister of Forestry, Fisheries, and Environment Maggie Sotyu are also PEC members.

New PEC members:

  • Thanduxolo Khalipha
  • Jabu Mbalula
  • Nthabiseng Garekoe
  • Nthatisi Greg
  • Maggie Sotyu
  • Saki Mokoena
  • Mapule Dhlamini
  • Seiso Mohai
  • Letsoha Mathae
  • Nozililo Mashiya
  • Elizabeth Rockman
  • Makhosini Msibi
  • Sonto Motaung
  • Mando Shasha
  • Thandi Tobias
  • Moretlo Nonoise
  • Zama Sigwebela
  • Mannese Mofokeng
  • Castro Thabana
  • Nolitha Ndungane
  • Khotso Sesele
  • Mzwandile Tlhakudi
  • Linda Makhubu
  • Zukile March
  • Sello Dithebe
  • Oupa Khoabane
  • Kenalemang Phukuntshi
  • Zinne Lockman
  • Ike More
  • Olga Seate



»Premier of Free State Sisi Ntombela, MECs left out in the cold«

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media ↯↯↯