# Police Restricts Movements in 36 LGAs Throughout Nigeria Due To By-Elections

The bye-elections will be held today 5th of December 2020 by the Independent National Electoral Commission in 11 states across the country.

The police have issued warnings of restricted movement in the 36 local government areas of the election.

The Police Public Relations Officer in Lagos State, Muyiwa Adejobi, released a statement titled ‘Lagos East Senatorial and Kosofe Constituency II bye-elections: Police declare restriction order, sue for peaceful conduct’. He also announced on Twitter the restriction of movement from 6am to 6pm in Somolu, Kosofe, Epe, Ikorodu and Ibeju-Lekki LGAs in the state.

Adejobi said

Lagos-East senatorial election, no movement between 6 am and 6 pm of Saturday, December 5, 2020. Comply please.

The Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Hakeem Odumosu added that the restriction was in place to ensure free, fair and credible elections.

The statement reads

The command has deployed a reasonable number of police personnel and other security agents to cover and provide security at the 1,928 polling units in the areas.

The Commissioner of Police reiterated that there would not be both vehicular and pedestrian movements in and out of the affected local government areas during the elections except those on election duties, essential services and accredited domestic and foreign election observers.

The police boss, however, warned the electorate and political gladiators to play the game according to the rules and provisions of the Electoral Acts, 2010. He also warned that no police aides or security agents would be allowed to escort their principals or any Very Important Personalities to the polling units.