OYSIEC Presents Certificates Of Return To Elected Chairmen

NigeriaThe Chairman, Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC), Mr Isiaka Olagunju, on Monday, presented Certificates of Return to the 32 elected chairmen out of 33 local government areas in the state.

The Council election which held in the state on Saturday was concluded on Sunday with the announcement of the final results.

Addressing the newly elected council bosses shortly after the presentation of the certificates, Olagunju urged the Chairmen not to disappoint the people who have vested the power to oversee the affairs of the local councils in them and tasked them to ensure they fulfil the promises they made to the people during their campaigns.

Olagunju said: “They have campaigned vigorously in the nooks and crannies of their local government areas and have now emerged as chairmen. They should see themselves as servants of the people.

“I told them that now that they are elected, they should not make themselves inaccessible to the people who voted them. They must try as much as possible to remember their promises and fulfil them.”

Those presented the Certificates of Return by the OYSIEC chairman are Mr Raheem Akeem Adepoju (Oorelope), Sulaiman Adediran (Irepo), Mrs Juliana Oluwakemi Akanni (Olorunsogo), Akanji Kabir Ayoade (Ogbomoso North), Oyeniyi Timothy Oyedokun (Ogbomoso South) and Olugbenga Obalowo (Ibarapa East).

Others are: Jelili Oyinloye Adebare (Iwajowa), Fasasi Adeagbo (Atisbo), Mrs Ramat Adeniran (Saki-East), Sarafadeen Omirinde (Saki-West), Adebare Muraina Afolabi (Kajola), Adesoye Seun Ojo (Ogo-Oluwa) and Bolaji Ojo Akintola (Itesiwaju).The list also includes Olateju Michael Alabi (Oriire), Adegbite Isaiah Alabi (Surulere), Adedoyin Oloyede Adeoye (Ibarapa Central), Lateef Adebayo Lawal (Ibarapa North), Muftau Osuolale (Iseyin) and Sunday Akindele Ojo (Afijio).

Kafilat Olakojo (Atiba), Musbaudeen Adesina Sanusi (Ona-Ara), Babatunde Akeem Salami (Oyo West), Saheed Arowosaye Adeyemi (Oyo East), Ibrahim Akintayo (Ibadan North-East) and Taoheed Jimoh Adedigba (Akinyele) are also on the list.The remaining are Olaide Popoola (Oluyole), Kazeem Gbadamosi (Lagelu), Oyedele Sikiru Sanda(Egbeda), Kehinde Adeyemi Akanni (Ibadan South-West), Musbaudeen Sanusi (Ona-Ara), Saheed Oladayo Yusuf (Ibadan North) and Emmanuel Oluwole Alawode (Ibadan South-East).

Governor Seyi Makinde is expected to preside over the swearing-in ceremony of the elected chairmen at an event fixed for the House of Chiefs, House of Assembly Complex, Agodi-Secretariat, Ibadan.VoN.