A charge has gone to the Public Procurement Committee of the Office of the Deputy Governor to embrace the dictates of the public procurement law enacted by the State to guide its procurement activities.

The Permanent Secretary in the Office, Mrs. Yetunde Odejayi, who gave the advice today during the inauguration of the annual Procurement Planning Committee at the Office of the Deputy Governor, also indicated that there is a need for new ideas for better service delivery.

She noted that “The reward of a good job is more jobs; the committee is expected to be more efficient, seek more information, most especially with the new procedures, as the world is not static but dynamic and there is the need to change with the new reality”.

While reiterating the need for the committee to be more diligent, she stated that the e-procurement platform should be maximised, saying “the platform is awesome, it will balance revenue, enhance the ease of business in the State and will eliminate bureaucracy in government”.

Mrs. Odejayi maintained that the activities of the Public Procurement Agency are highly commendable, especially as it provides necessary support to Ministries, Departments and Agencies.

In his presentation, the General Manager, Lagos State Public Procurement Agency, Mr. Fatai Idowu Onafowote, noted that procurement teaches how to plan ahead and ensures that personnel in government collaborate to achieve the goals of their offices.

He noted that the committee should be mindful of the process to be followed such as the Procurement Planning Law, regulations, policies and government circulars before coming to an agreement and presenting their views.

While advising the committee to work together as a team to move things forward, Onafowote said that “the committee presents an avenue to express oneself and get contributions from all members. All hands have to be on deck, in the decision-making process to ensure that positions are agreed on quickly”.

The 10-member Council consists of Mrs. Yetunde Odejayi as the Chairman of the Committee, Mr. Biola Fagunwa, Mrs. Mojisola Adeyemi- Fashola, Mr. Tola Ekemode, Ibironke Dawodu, Aolat Abiola Alade, Titi Ayinla, Mojisola Okon, Adeniyi Idowu and Muritala Kassim as members.

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media Below↯↯↯

Back to Top