Fayemi Sets Committee To Review Nigeria’s 1999 Constitution

Fayemi Sets Committee To Review Nigeria’s 1999 Constitution

NigeriaThe Governor of Ekiti State, Dr Kayode Fayemi has constituted a nine- person Committee to harmonize the views of the Government and People of Ekiti State on the review of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended).

This is in furtherance to the 7th May 2021 announcement of the Deputy Senate President, Chairmen Senate and House Committee on the Review of the 1999 Constitution on the commencement of the exercise as part of efforts aimed at ensuring the participation of Nigerians in the proposed alteration of some of the provisions of the 1999 Constitution.

The Committee which is to be Chaired by the State’s Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Olawale Fapohunda has the following members:

1. Hon. Adeoye Aribasoye, Member, Ekiti State House of Assembly;

2. Hon. Tajudeen Akingbolu, Member, Ekiti State House of Assembly;

3. Alhaji Jinadu Ayodele, Honourable Commissioner Regional Development and Special Duties

4. Adeyemi Adewunmi, Chairman Nigerian Bar Association Ado-Ekiti Branch;

5. Catherine Oduluyi, Chairperson, Young Lawyers Forum, N.B.A. Ikere-Ekiti Branch;

6. Professor Kunle Ajayi of the Ekiti State University;

7. Rita Ilevbare of the Ekiti State Gender-Based Violence Management Committee

8. Ayo Daramola, Senior Special Assistant on Legal Matters to the Governor will serve as secretary to the Committee.

The Committee is expected to participate actively at the Zonal and National meetings of the National Assembly on Constitutional Review and ensure that as far as practicable the proposals suggested by the government and people of Ekiti State are included in the final outcome of the review process.

↯↯↯Read More On The Topic On TDPel Media ↯↯↯