Golf fans were left scratching their heads at Oakmont this week, all thanks to a surprising and avoidable misstep by none other than defending US Open champion Bryson DeChambeau.
Known for his scientific approach to the game and larger-than-life presence on the course, DeChambeau found himself in hot water—not because of a wild shot, but due to a strange rules blunder that even caught commentators off guard.
It All Started With a Tricky Fourth Hole
The drama unfolded on the fourth hole, a long 621-yard par five.
After blocking his tee shot into a bunker, DeChambeau had to play it safe with his second.
But that shot veered off again and landed on a spectator walkway—a spot where, according to the rules, he was entitled to free relief.
That’s when things got weird.
A Caddie’s Premature Move Causes Confusion
Instead of first marking the ball’s position or assessing where to take relief, DeChambeau’s caddie, Gregory Bodine, simply picked the ball up.
At that point, the reigning champ couldn’t return the ball to its original location, even if he wanted to.
According to the rules, since the ball had already been lifted, any relief had to be taken further back—forcing an impromptu debate with an on-course rules official.
Then Came the Drop That Wasn’t a Drop
Once DeChambeau and the rules official figured out the new spot, the LIV Golf star made yet another blunder—he placed the ball on the fairway instead of properly dropping it from knee height, as required by the rules.
While it may sound like a small technicality, it’s a significant procedural mistake, especially at a tournament as high-stakes as the US Open.
Experts Were Left Shaking Their Heads
The mistake lit up commentary booths. Sky Sports analyst Nick Dougherty didn’t hold back, saying, “However you look at it, that was a fairly stupid mistake for a very intelligent man.”
Fellow analyst and ex-European Tour player Andrew Coltart added, “I’m just astounded that he placed it. It’s just not a natural thing to do.”
Even former PGA champion Rich Beem was baffled, pointing out the illogical decision-making in not choosing a more advantageous relief spot.
“Why not take it an extra five yards back?” he asked.
Could There Be a Penalty?
As of now, USGA officials haven’t said whether DeChambeau will face a penalty for the mishandling.
However, the situation draws parallels with a 2014 incident involving Rory McIlroy, who was penalised in Abu Dhabi for not taking full relief from a similar spectator walkway.
DeChambeau Shrugs Off the Chaos
Despite the rules drama, DeChambeau managed to steady himself.
He completed the front nine with a respectable level-par 35.
Still, the reigning champ wasn’t thrilled with how things went overall.
“Pretty disappointed with how I played,” he admitted after the round.
“It’s not too far off. Just got to get the putting a little bit more dialed, and I’ll be right there. Three-over could have easily been two-under today.”
A Reminder That Even the Pros Slip Up
For someone as detail-focused as Bryson DeChambeau, this was a very human error.
Whether or not the USGA hands down a penalty, the moment served as a reminder that even the top names in golf can forget the basics—especially when the pressure’s on.