AITEO Cup: Fireworks in Lokoja, Aba, Kaduna in Round of 16

The Round of 16 matches of the men’s section of this year’s AITEO Cupcompetition will come alive on Wednesday with potentially explosiveencounters at the Confluence Stadium in Lokoja, Enyimba Stadium in Abaand Kaduna’s Ahmadu Bello Stadium.

It will surely be a fight-to-finish in Lokoja when respected Tin Citylords, Plateau United take the pitch against in-form Nasarawa Unitedfrom Lafia. Plateau United, last winners of the Nigeria ProfessionalFootball League, pushed Jigawa Golden Stars off the boat in the lastround while the Solid Miners got the better of Bendel Insurance.

In Kaduna, it is a northern derby between Katsina United – in the NPFL– and Gombe United, accustomed to the NPFL but presently in the secondtier Nigeria National League. Both teams go for each other’s jugularat the Ahmadu Bello Stadium to determine who grabs the ticket to thequarter finals.

The Enyimba Stadium in Aba will welcome Heartland FC of Owerri andresurgent Rivers United in a game of two Nigeria Professional FootballLeague battlers. Rivers United are eyeing success in this year’s NPFLbut they have a mountain to climb with Akwa United, Enyimba FC, KanoPillars and Nasarawa United all focused and angling for the diadem.United may simply opt to concentrate more on the AITEO Cup.

The Pride of Rivers bumped Sokoto United in the Round of 32 whileHeartland upended the ambitions of Ekiti United.

In Abuja, surprise packets Green Beret FC, who closed the door on NPFLside Warri Wolves, are up against another top tier side, SunshineStars. Abia Warriors and Niger Tornadoes have a date at the Aper AkuStadium in Makurdi, and Lobi Stars will fancy their chances of aquarter final place when they tackle Bayelsa United at Owerri’s DanAnyiam Stadium.

The Nnamzi Azikiwe Stadium, Enugu is venue for the confrontationbetween Wikki Tourists of Bauchi and Gateway FC of Abeokuta, whileformer champions Kano Pillars and another surprise side, Kebbi United(who gunned down Kwara United in the Round of 32) will lock horns atthe Bako Kontagora Stadium in Minna.

All matches kick off at 3pm.


Kano Pillars Vs Kebbi United (Minna)

Gateway FC Wikki Tourists (Enugu)

Green Berets Vs Sunshine Stars (Abuja)

Katsina United Vs Gombe United (Kaduna)

Abia Warriors Vs Niger Tornadoes (Makurdi)

Plateau United Vs Nasarawa United (Lokoja)

Heartland FC Vs Rivers United (Aba)

Bayelsa United Vs Lobi Stars (Owerri)